ANYTIME is a Great Time for SEX!

5 Jun

How ‘bout now?  No? Okay, then how about yesterday, or last week or 50 years ago?

I’m talking about TIME TRAVEL, so try to keep up…

I am a huge fan of all things SciFi, paranormal and fantasy, but I’m also a hopeless romantic!

I love happy endings and even though it SUCKS I’m also aware that in real life, there are plenty of not so happy endings to go around. We’ve all experienced them and wondered what went wrong and what we would do differently if we could go back and set things right.

Come on…tell the truth. You KNOW you wish it were possible in real life and not just in the theories of Einstein and Rosen 🙂

Maybe one day, but for now we’ll have to settle for books and movies.

Of course, my favorite time travel movies are the ones that have really HOT leading men, (I’m thinking that “Somewhere in Time” wouldn’t have been nearly as appealing if it starred Woody Allen instead of Christopher Reeve…but I could be wrong!)

My list of favs is LOOOOONG, but here’s a few…complete with photos in case you wonder why:

First up,  the aforementioned, “Somewhere in Time” with the late Chris Reeve and Jane Seymour.

This is a classic and I don’t know what else you can say. The twists and turns in the story as the mystery unfolded of the old woman who paid the young play-write a visit (and left him with the cryptic message, “Come back to me”)  kept us all guessing right until the end. I remember the portrait of the young actress, and even though I’ve seen the movie time and time again, I always sigh the moment the photo is taken and I see the reason for the wistful twinkle in her eye.

 

“Déjà Vu”, with Denzel Washington is on my list because…well just because I love pretty much anything with Denzel Washington in it. Besides being an amazing actor, he’s got a great body and a smile that can melt ice!

 

 

 

 

 

“Kate & Leopold” with Meg Ryan & Hugh Jackman. Meg was pretty much the queen of chick flick romantic comedy for many years (though she has also proven herself as a dramatic actress as well) and Hugh Jackman…Damn! I’d pay to see him in anything but I like this particular flick because of the way they wove the consequences of changing the past (remember when the elevators all starting breaking down?) with the which came first chicken or the egg scenario (her being in the photos the guy took when he we back in the first place.)

 

 

 

“Prince of Persia: The Sands of Time”.

 

 

All I can say is that I will NEVER look at Jake Gyllenhal the same way again! He’s always been a great young actor but in this movie, he definitely joined the ranks of HOT leading men! Oh yeah, and the story was pretty cool, too, but, double damn—Jake Gyllenhal was just plain HOT!

 

“The Lake House” with Sandra Bullock & Keanu Reeves.

Love her and though lots of folks “dis” Keanu Reeves I happen to like him.  This was another story line that really hooked me and held me to the end…and I loved the twist of why he didn’t show up for their “dinner date” and how she figured it out just in time…

 

 

 

 

Which reminds me of our own Marilyn Campbell. One of her books, “Just in Time”, was and still is one of my all time favorite time travel romances. Another of her time travels “In and Out of Time”  was updated and re-released by Elloria’s Cave at the end of last year and she has another book that comes out this week.

 

 

 

“Zenith Rising” (available on June 8th) is the first in her new Crystal Island Series and it’s time travel plus sooo much more! I can’t “spill the beans” but I can give you this:

Maggie Harrison’s temp assignment sounds glamorous. As assistant to bestselling author Noah Nash, she must stay in his penthouse suite at the legendary Davenport Hotel. However, Maggie is more interested in whether Noah will remember her from high school.

Tales of ghosts and paranormal activity enticed Noah to set his next book in the Davenport, but his reason for hiring Maggie is entirely personal. He hopes the old spark can be fanned into a new flame. What happens between them is more like a raging wildfire.

Their passionate reunion takes an even wilder turn as they are suddenly transported to the Roaring Twenties, when the new hotel sparkled like the champagne in the speakeasy…and several murders went unsolved. For Maggie and Noah to return home they must prevent one of those deaths, but first they need to figure out which one.

Well…those are some of MY favorites…how about YOU?

You know what they say…Time flies when you’re having fun,  (personally, I’d just like to take my time  and  travel right down the center of this guys’ six-pack)

… so untill mext time (Which will be FATHER’S Day…what IS this thing with me and holdays!?), 

 Happy Travels to all 🙂

–Shannon

www.shannonemmel.com

15 Responses to “ANYTIME is a Great Time for SEX!”

  1. Nara Malone June 5, 2011 at 4:57 am #

    Oh hot, Shannon. I love time travel, and Marilyn’s In and Out of Time is FANTASTIC! I had no idae there were so many time travel movies. I’ve got some catching up to do.

    • shannonemmel June 5, 2011 at 10:13 am #

      Thanks, Nara…and oh yeah–there are tons of TT flicks and I only mentioned my favorite romantic ones!(Even though I ommitted “Time Traveler’s Wife”– not ‘coz I didn’t like it, but I needed to stop somewhere!)

      As Marilyn mentioned,there are a lot more including Timecop. Terminator & T2:Judgement Day, Millennium, and a slew of other SciFi ones like Source Code (also with Jake Gyllenhall) and don’t forget Butterfly Effect, Time Machine and…well, let’s just wait & see how many others everyone else can name 🙂

  2. JUDY D June 5, 2011 at 5:25 am #

    LOVE THE SAME ONES YOU DO.. LOL

    • shannonemmel June 5, 2011 at 11:37 am #

      Hi Judy–

      I KNOW you have a whole list a time travel books…what are your favorites?

      (BTW–for my fellow authors, Judy is the owner of a GREAT little bookstore in south FLorida called “The Bookworm” and a HUGE supporter of authors…and yes! Judy still hand sells books.)

  3. Marilyn Campbell June 5, 2011 at 8:17 am #

    First, thanks for the plug, Shannon! I have a lot of time-travel movies (romantic and not so much) in my collection but you definitely picked out some of my faves and for the same reasons! As for those with smokin’ hot leading men, I have to add Jean-Claude Van Damme in Time Cop for pure sex appeal and the super hot love scene with his wife!

  4. Desiree Holt June 5, 2011 at 9:52 am #

    Shannon, what an absolutely great, great blog. I think my favorite is a semi-time travel novella, Lake of Dreams by Linda Howard. I have reread it a lot.And I have Zenith Rising on my calendar.

    • shannonemmel June 5, 2011 at 10:21 am #

      My time travel books go waaaay back to Johanna Lindsay’s “Warrior’s Woman” (more futuristic than time travel but her world was HiTech and his is more or less viking/feudal so it was close). Marilyn’s “Stolen Dreams” was part of her Innerworld Series and that one had everything I love (except Vampires) with a futuristic civilization, living in comtemporary times and having to go back to the fall of Atlantis to make things right!

      As far as Vampires, Linda Lael Miller had a vampire series in which some of the characters went back and forth through time, and two of my all time faves are her books, “Here and Then” and “There and Now”. In fact, I was honored to present Linda with a “Lifetime Achievement Award” one year at the RT Convention.

      Yeah…I LOVE time travel!

  5. Crystal Kauffman June 5, 2011 at 12:56 pm #

    Would you believe I haven’t seen any of those movies? Time to take my Netflix account off hiatus 🙂 I’ve always wanted to see Kate and Leopold. The one I did see just yesterday was The Time Traveler’s Wife, but it left me feeling very sad.

    • shannonemmel June 5, 2011 at 3:02 pm #

      Yeah, it’s a great movie with an interesting time travel twist, but yes…it did have it’s down side. 😦

  6. Karen C June 5, 2011 at 7:20 pm #

    I really enjoyed reading this post! Yes, I stopped and peaked at the pictures – okay, ogled – but, I really did read the post, too…

    The only movie you mentioned that I remember watching was The Lake House – and I thought that was terrific. Looks like I’ll some quality movie time coming up.

    I’d like to thank you for the information on Marilyn Campbell’s books; looks like I have a new-to-me author to check out!

    Thanks!

    • shannonemmel June 5, 2011 at 8:10 pm #

      Hi there, Karen–

      Glad you enjoyed the post!

      If you search “shannon” from the top right corner of the home page, it will bring up my other posts (ie: Coitus Interruptus, Fangs a LOT Pal, MILF Smackdown and my personal fave, “Yummy White & Dark Chocolate Sexy Male Bunnies.”

      All of them have LOTS of beefcake to ogle–err…I mean they all have lots of good information 🙂

      If you want more info on Marilyn Campbell, you can check out her author page on this site, or her own website: http://www.marilyncampbell.com

      • Karen C June 5, 2011 at 10:27 pm #

        Thanks, Shannon. I’m a relatively new follower of Passionate Reads and I’m still checking things out; I appreciate you pointing me in the right direction for more ‘information’ .. and the link for Marilyn!

  7. KJ Reed June 5, 2011 at 7:35 pm #

    I always have to stop and watch when Kate & Leopold is on TV. So that’d be a big one for me! Hugh was great…but Stuart was pretty amusing as a character too. hehe

  8. Renee Vincent June 8, 2011 at 6:46 am #

    Love this post, KJ! Especially when I found someone else who loved Prince of Persia as much as me. Like you, I will never look at Jake the same again. I have watched that movie over and over and never get tired of it, *ahem* I mean him.

    Looking forward to your next post!

    • shannonemmel June 8, 2011 at 10:00 am #

      Hi Renee–

      Glad you enjoyed my post… and trust me, you and I are NOT the only ones “ogling” Jake Gyllenhall in Prince of Persia!

      If you like this post, you might want to check out some of my others…. If you search “shannon” from the top right corner of the home page, it will bring up my other posts (ie: Coitus Interruptus, Fangs a LOT Pal, MILF Smackdown and my personal fave, “Yummy White & Dark Chocolate Sexy Male Bunnies.”

      All of them have LOTS to ogle–enjoy!

      _–Shannon

Leave a Reply

