What do you mean I can’t go naked?!

1 Jun

This weekend is my first-ever conference…as a writer anyway. I’ll be at the Lori Foster Reader Author Get Together in Ohio, June 3-5. I’m happy to meet some people I’ve only known online, to attend some workshops, and to have a weekend just to myself to be a professional without being a wife or a mother. (You have no idea how excited I am for that!)

Here’s the problem with conferences. Apparently showing up naked is frowned upon. (I know, how stuffy, right?) Nor can you walk around in sweatpants and a baggy sweatshirt. The actual clothing required/expected sort of depends on the level of formality in the conference itself. But suffice to say, you want to at least look your nicest in whatever level of attire is appropriate.

Now here’s my problem. I’m one of those people who stays at home with their toddler, where writing is my only (paid) job. I honestly do wear sweatpants and baggy sweatshirts most of the day. (Though I don’t think I look as bad as the mom icon over there. haha.) My meetings aren’t around a boardroom table, but  next to the tub filled with bubbles and rubber duckies. My presentations don’t have powerpoint, but they do include dancing with Little Pookie. My power lunches don’t include business deals, but a battle of the wills over a side of peas.

Needless to say, I do not own a business suit. It would be a waste. But now I actually need what I dub “real adult clothing.” So I had a power-shopping day with my mom and sister and picked out a few outfits. I’m exhausted from that, and I’m not even to the conference yet! Ah!

So excited though. If you happen to be in the Cincinnati, Ohio area over the weekend, pop on over. (See link in first paragraph for more information.) There are a ton of great authors there signing books. But if you can’t come, you’re still in luck. I’ll be blogging about the days I’m there on my own website, so head on over to my blog at authorkjreed.com to see what’s going on over the weekend, and maybe some pictures as well!

________________________________

KJ Reed is an erotic romance author. She writes sexy contemporary stories featuring alpha men and the women (and men) who can’t resist them. You can find out more about KJ, get behind-the-scenes glances at her books, and catch up with her blog by visiting her site: authorkjreed.com

10 Responses to “What do you mean I can’t go naked?!”

  1. Marilyn Campbell June 1, 2011 at 8:50 am #

    Hilarious KJ! Fortunately, the days when we authors were expected to wear business suits to conferences are long gone. Now, on your list of what you want to accomplish while there, be sure you have “HAVE FUN” as priority one! (The gods smile upon those who are enjoying life)

    • KJ Reed June 1, 2011 at 3:27 pm #

      Yup. No actual business suit was purchased. But nice black pants, a nice blazer (not together), nice cardigans, cute tanks…real clothes. haha And having fun is definitely number one!

  2. Keri Ford June 1, 2011 at 10:57 am #

    I am trying my hardest to get you ready for this thing. Neon Green toe nails with Sparkles and glowing orange fingernails are THE WAY TO GO.

    Trust me. 😀

  3. Karen C June 1, 2011 at 11:36 am #

    I loved your post, chuckling as I read it. My daughter works from home and has for about 6 years and she goes through the same thing you related when she has to go to a company party or some other ‘dressed up’ event! I think Marilyn has it covered when she says Have Fun and I like Keri’s suggestion of the neon green toe nails (I have an emerald green I’d be happy to share with you). Enjoy the conference!!!

    • KJ Reed June 1, 2011 at 3:24 pm #

      Ha. Your daughter and I would probably relate very well on the “Ohmygod I have to wear pants with a zipper?!” fact of life. hehe It was a tough one, finding the right balance of casual and business. Trendy but serious. Green really isn’t my color (which I do believe Keri knows) but thanks for the offer. 🙂 I think my toes will be some version of pink!

  4. Nara Malone June 1, 2011 at 6:21 pm #

    Lol. We want to see lots of pics.

  5. Kaily Hart June 1, 2011 at 9:25 pm #

    Can’t wait to meet you in person this coming weekend!! Ah…I was going to go with jeans LOL. I’m not sure what color my nails will be yet!

  6. Lauren Fraser June 2, 2011 at 11:23 am #

    Have a fantastic time. I’m looking forward to all the photos.

    I’m kind of partial to blue toe nails myself.

  7. Nickie Asher June 2, 2011 at 12:24 pm #

    I’m have the clothes issue, also. I’m wearing business casual.

    • KJ Reed June 2, 2011 at 6:45 pm #

      I figure nice dark jeans and a nice top on Friday, and then black pants, low heels and another nice top on Saturday. Sunday is, as I understand it, super casual. So probably jeans again with a more casual top, like maybe my sweatshirt, honestly. lol But this one isn’t baggy! haha

Leave a Reply

