Simple pleasures.

24 May

Pleasure is one thing we all understand. We all have things that make us happy but do you ever really think about what they are? I mean REALLY think about them. On Monday I woke up after two days of not being able to eat due to a sore throat to find not only could I again swallow my own spit but yes, I could even manage food. Man, that first spoonful of yogurt and fresh fruit was the best damn thing EVA! But then I felt a little ashamed of my reaction and that got me thinking about things that please me and I discovered I’m a woman of simple pleasures. You see I love nothing more than a sunny day, a good book and a cup of tea. All simple things. The there’s the site of my house after I’ve tidied up, well the cleaning isn’t so simple but the pleasure of a clean house is. Then there’s waiting at the airport at 5:30am for Mr.C to arrive after his latest overseas trip or having him snoring his head off in the bed next to me. *grin*

Then there’s the not so simple. The five course meal a chef slaved hours to prepare. The romantic evening spent with the one you love that takes secretaries and assistants months to co-ordinate. And what about that good book I mentioned earlier. All those words took an author months to arrange, and then the edit took a turn, back to the author, the editor, the FLE, the editor, the author, the editor…..wow, not simple after all. Which gets me thinking are any of life’s pleasures really simple? That sunny day takes the sun, the wind and the water molecules in the air to cooperate and any scientist would probably argue that none of that is simple and far more complicated than I’ve stated. The cup of tea needs electricity, fresh water, tea leaves, in my case sugar and milk, which means farmers and cows….. Not to mention I actually have to go to the shops and buy what I need. Damn, even the joy of a cuppa is complicated.

And when I look at things from this ‘not so simple’ angle I realize that love is one of the most complicated things on the planet. It’s hard work and determination, a little luck and a whole heap of stubborn that make love work and when you add in two individuals that have their own thoughts, ideals, dreams, wants and needs, oh hell, I’m surprised anyone makes it past the first flush of romance never mind actually makes it to the alter. And yet we take a lot of our pleasure for granted. So next time you’re enjoying your ‘simple pleasure’ think about what it took for you to have that simple moment in time and really enjoy it while you can.

Rhian Cahill

Website

5 Responses to “Simple pleasures.”

  1. Billi Jean May 24, 2011 at 6:53 am #

    Sweet. Loved the post. And yes, you are right. Even the simplest pleasures are not so simple. Love? I struggle even writing it! LOL

    Hugs,

    Billi Jean

  2. Marilyn Campbell May 24, 2011 at 8:13 am #

    Awwwwww, your blog made me sigh (in a very good way). Sometimes just making myself take a few seconds in the morning or before sleep to be thankful for one of those “simple” things can put me in a happy place.

  3. Lauren Fraser May 24, 2011 at 11:40 am #

    Fantastic post,Rhian.

    Glad you are feeling better as well. I’m glad we are done with cold and flu season and I guess you’re just starting yours. Yuck.

  4. Nara Malone May 24, 2011 at 11:43 am #

    Aw, this was a sweet and beautiful look at what really matters. Thanks.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Here, there, everywhere! - May 24, 2011

    […] over at Passionate Reads talking about simple pleasures. Come on over and join me. CLICK […]

Leave a Reply

