Night of the Living Plot Bunnies

23 Apr

With Easter this weekend and spring on the horizon, I’d rather be talking about cute, fuzzy  Mr. Hoppities not bent on your destruction, but alas, all I have is a hutch full of this:

One of the questions authors get asked most is where do your ideas come from?  I find it’s not a problem of finding an idea, but more often finding a place to hide when the herd of plot bunnies comes looking for me.  It’s not unlike the shuffling, relentless gait of pre-28 Days Later zombies.  No matter how well you hide, a group of them will find you and nosh your brains until you’ve been diverted from your purpose.

I try not to feed my newly arrived bunnies too much so they don’t grow ginormous and cannibalize the other bunnies.  (The bunny for my current WIP is the person who investigates the strange noise alone and gets slaughtered during the opening credits). Likewise, I can’t ignore them for too long or they will work together and multiple like …bunnies.

It’s a delicate balancing act, and one I’m not too great at. My file of partial WIPs has grown expotentially in the past few weeks, but I’m ever hopeful. It has to even out some time, right?  Right?

Sasha

11 Responses to “Night of the Living Plot Bunnies”

  1. L M Brown April 23, 2011 at 2:07 pm #

    Great post and so true. Those bunnies just invade your life and send you off on all sorts of wild tangents.

    • Sasha Devlin April 23, 2011 at 2:12 pm #

      It’s good to know I’m not alone! Please take *this* bunny as a token of my appreciation.

  2. Nara April 23, 2011 at 3:50 pm #

    I hear you. I hear you. I feel like my plot bunnies have been multiplying like tribbles. So many stories to tell and so many ways to tell them. I feel like a cat lady only with plot bunnies.

    • Sasha Devlin April 23, 2011 at 3:59 pm #

      That mental image made me snort!

      Since you have so many, you won’t notice this little guy. I’ll just tuck him away right inside your handbag.

  3. Jeannene Walker April 23, 2011 at 5:07 pm #

    EEK! I have another one flitting around my head too! Mine are contemps and link to a book I’m plotting at the moment. Gahhhh. I can’t even get to writing this one and finishing the other one. When will we have time to write the rest? Love ya.

    • Sasha Devlin April 23, 2011 at 5:20 pm #

      I got two more this morning. And I’m not sure what the answer is. Maybe organization? Medication? Why don’t you ask this lil bunny? He’s yours free of charge!

  4. Dan Swiss April 23, 2011 at 5:52 pm #

    No not the Plot bunnies 😮 No They are Multiplying 😮 I keep them in my closet and and they are getting out 😮 Help meeeeeeeeee 😮
    But they are so cute 🙂

    • Sasha Devlin April 23, 2011 at 5:56 pm #

      Dare I say that trying to hide them only makes them hopping mad?! 🙂 They are cute. And since you are such a fan, you’re welcome to *this* little guy.

  5. Lauren Fraser April 23, 2011 at 7:47 pm #

    My bunnies are busy little gaffers, they multiple like crazy too. I’m trying to ignore the roomful of them so I can finish my current project but they get noisy in there. LOL

    • Sasha Devlin April 23, 2011 at 9:11 pm #

      Feeeed them. Just a little bit. And while you’re at it, you can feed this one. She won’t need much, I promise….

  6. shannonemmel April 23, 2011 at 10:58 pm #

    I find the best way to rein in my plot bunnies is to bribe them. Seriously…I jot down a few notes and make a deal with them that if they will go and hide back in their holes until I get finished with what I’m working on, then I PROMISE to comeback to them…

    Thus far neither the FEDs nor humongous muscle-bound bunnies with brass knuckles have come knocking on my door demanding I “fess up or pay up” so…I think it’s working.

Leave a Reply

