How many is too many?

22 Apr

Today is release day for Dani’s Duo, my new book from Ellora’s Cave and since it’s a sexy menage story, it seemed only fitting that I talk about menages.

As you probably guessed, I am a huge fan of menage stories which probably explains why I’ve written a couple already.

Now I was reading something the other day on goodreads that was talking about how many is too many?

And it really got me thinking. What’s the right number for you as a reader to make a book really work? I know for me, there’s a line between holy HAWT, bring it on, and oh sweet mother of god no. You know the ones I’m talking about, where you read it and your eyes bug out of your head and your knees get welded together in fear. LOL  Yeah that’s my line. *grin*

So for me, I really like stories about 2 guys and 1 girl, it seems like a great number. I like when the boy bits bump and when they don’t. And yes, I think adding a third and or maybe even a forth man into the mix has some definite possibilities but after that my eyes kind of glaze over, there gets to be a few too many players in the mix for me, personally. The practical side of my brain starts to win out over the escapist, and I start wondering about all the other things that would be involved with that many people. Where are they standing? What are they doing while they wait their turn? Wouldn’t their legs get in the way and how does that really work? Which guy’s junk are we talking about again? Holy crap, wouldn’t she be sore?

Yep, I admit it my brain turns back on and I’m out. I know it’s shocking but there it is. I’m all for taking one for the team but I’m not a huge fan of taking the entire team. LOL Now don’t get me wrong, I have no problem reading it, it’s just not my go to pick for menage type books.

So I’m curious for all you menage fans out there. How many is too many for you?

Now since it is release day, I figure I’ve got to do a little shameless self-promotion. *grin* So here you go. Oh and if you are interested I’m taking part in a blog tour over on JustRomance.Me this weekend. It starts tomorrow  and there are some fantastic prizes up for grabs including a NOOK so you’ll definitely want to check that out.

Blurb

Attorney Danika James is ready to celebrate her greatest win to date, but not with a bunch of stodgy lawyers and martinis. Beneath Danika’s buttoned-up exterior lives a woman with wild-side desires she has yet to fully discover.

Tattoo artist Paddy O’Shea walks on society’s razor edge. When he learns his best friend, Cooper Hanes, has more than a casual interest in Danika, Paddy suggests a weekend celebration of exploration none of them will ever forget.

For the next forty-eight hours the men satisfy fantasies Dani didn’t even know she had. But every party has to end. Doesn’t it? Or can the courtroom diva turn Dani’s Duo into something as permanent as one of Paddy’s tattoos?

Buy Link

~ Lauren

http://www.laurenfraser.com

Don’t forget to check out the blog tour this weekend for some great prizes. I’m a little jealous I can’t win the NOOK, bummer, but hopefully one of you will. *grin* Just Romance Me Blog Tour

20 Responses to “How many is too many?”

  1. Marilyn Campbell April 22, 2011 at 7:48 am #

    This book sounds wildfires in Texas hot! Downloading it this morning!!!

  2. Kelly Jamieson April 22, 2011 at 10:18 am #

    Good question Lauren! I kind of cringe when I read more than three in a menage. It’s all a fantasy, really, but more than two men with one woman pushes it beyond believable for me. I too love me a good menage story and I’ve read ones with more than three, but I don’t think I’ll write ’em. Dani’s Duo sounds hawt!

    • Lauren Fraser April 22, 2011 at 12:01 pm #

      I’m not sure I could could my head around writing about 5 or six different men. OY too many body parts to keep track of. LOL

  3. Cat Grant April 22, 2011 at 10:55 am #

    I’ve written menages too, but like you, I can’t see including more than two guys. For one thing, there’s the pronoun problem. Which “he” are we talking about here?

    I prefer going the m/m/f route, so everybody gets their share of action. But even so, it’s hard to crowd that many people on one bed – even if it’s king-size! (The bed, not… oh, never mind!)

    • Nara April 22, 2011 at 11:04 am #

      That’s one I’ve been debating too. I’ve been thinking of it terms of a shapeshifter story. I can’t resist pushing limits, but I think for the romance aspects of the story it will be hard to make more than 3 work as primary characters.

      • Lauren Fraser April 22, 2011 at 12:03 pm #

        In paranormals you can get away with pretty much anything. *waggles eyebrows*

        But yeah I think that’s why the huge groups are hard for me too because it stops being about the romance.

    • Lauren Fraser April 22, 2011 at 12:02 pm #

      LOL Cat, weirdly enough my mind didn’t jump to anything besides the bed when you said kind-sized. Sheesh I must be tired this morning. LOL

      Yep I hear you on the pronouns, too many he’s to keep track of.

  4. Stormy April 22, 2011 at 11:35 am #

    For the most part I like no more than three but every once in a while it’s kinda fun to read one with 5 or more. My eyes start to cross trying to keep up with names and body parts but it’s still fun to read. I’ve been reading a couple of series that have 5 M’s to one F but they are short stories where each M gets his own story and relationship building time. That has worked pretty well, so far.

    • Lauren Fraser April 22, 2011 at 12:05 pm #

      I think I’ve read that same series, Stormy. *grin*

      I don’t mind reading it every now and then, but my go to is 3 people.

      • Stormy April 22, 2011 at 12:43 pm #

        You mentioned you didn’t mind when the guys bits bump, Is Dani’s Duo M/F/M or M/M/F?

      • Lauren Fraser April 22, 2011 at 12:57 pm #

        Stormy, Dani’s Duo is M/F/M my other menage book Longing for Kayla is M/M/F.

        I like to mix things up a little. LOL

  5. Heather April 22, 2011 at 12:07 pm #

    If the guys and girls are willing 2 have fun with the same sex, I would say 4 is the highest I would go. Anything over that and your looking into orgy territory haha.

    • Lauren Fraser April 22, 2011 at 12:58 pm #

      LOL it kind of changes the mood of the book doesn’t it.

  6. Karen C April 22, 2011 at 12:10 pm #

    Congratulations on the release of Dani’s Duo; I hope it is wildly successful for you. I like to read the m/m/f menage the best, although kicking it up every now and then to three males/one female or two and two is okay.

    • Lauren Fraser April 22, 2011 at 12:59 pm #

      Thank you, Karen. *grin*

      It seems like most people max out around 4 or 5 total people in what they are wanting to read about.

  7. Stormy April 22, 2011 at 1:14 pm #

    oh yeah, I read Longing For Kayla! Very nicely done!!

    • Lauren Fraser April 22, 2011 at 4:24 pm #

      Oh, thank you, Stormy. I’m glad you enjoyed it.

  8. Sheila April 22, 2011 at 9:01 pm #

    No more than 4 in a bed please. It gets too confusing after that and all I can think is owwwww.

  9. Sasha Devlin April 22, 2011 at 10:08 pm #

    I do love me a good menage! I typically read m/m/f (loved Kayla btw) and five is my limit. Any more and I begin to wonder if there will be unsavory things (they’ve run out of logical places and now it’s time for elbow sex!) will happen.

    I also think it’s how you handle it. I read a m/f/f/m menage — everyone got a bit of action with everyone else — and it was sexy and beautifully done. I read a m/m/f/m/m and felt I needed a flow chart to keep track of who was where. It felt like there were at least three more people in the story.

Leave a Reply

