Hot or Not? Naughty Names

19 Apr

A couple of days ago, an author on one of the listservs I belong to asked for opinions on naughty name calling—hot or not? I’m really curious to see what readers of this blog think, because I’m spicing up my work-in-progress with a bit of ‘dirty’ dialogue between my hero and heroine:

His muscles flexed as he lifted her body above his and teased her with the tip of his cock.

“You bloody bastard!” she hissed, squirming above him, desperate to take him inside.

He lifted his hips so his cock barely penetrated her. “Is this what you want?” He withdrew to tease her again.

She squeezed her eyes shut and writhed in his arms.

“You want to be fucked?” he asked.

“You know I do, you goddamned arrogant ass.”

“Tell me,” he said, clenching his teeth in an effort to maintain control.

“Fuck me,” she muttered. “Do it, damn you!”

“This?” he asked, thrusting hard with one swift kick of his hips. “Is this what you want, you little slut?”

Debra Glass uses a bit of name-calling in her book Bought and Paid For. During a scene with some light-weight dominance play, the hero calls the heroine a whore. Glass makes it clear that her heroine finds it very hot. (I did, too.)

Cara McKenna, in the contemporary Willing Victim, has her heroine imagining being called naughty names in this exchange:

“Yeah. Take more of me. Suck my cock.”

Bitch, Laurel added to herself, the word implicit from his harsh tone.

Some readers might find name-calling demeaning. But naughty names are a big turn-on for me, as long as the hero and heroine have established an otherwise respectful relationship. I think that’s key.

So, does name calling do it for you?

10 Responses to “Hot or Not? Naughty Names”

  1. Marilyn Campbell April 19, 2011 at 8:22 am #

    Ooh, you picked some excellent examples, Erica! I found those hot too. But I have to admit, the only times a man tossed “naughty” words at me, they weren’t all that sexy and uh, oh yeah, I may have deserved them 🙂 Thanks for the fun blog!

  2. shannonemmel April 19, 2011 at 8:34 am #

    Oooooooooh…Now, WHEN is that gonna be finished?

    “…Bitch,” she added to herself. How DARE she leave usa all hanging with a scene like that?!!!

    (Can’t wait and my vote is, obviously for HOT!)

    –Shannon

    • Erica April 19, 2011 at 9:57 am #

      LOL! This just might be the kick in the a$$ that I need to get the darn thing done!

  3. Lauren Fraser April 19, 2011 at 11:01 am #

    I think it can be pretty hot if done right. The examples you used worked for me. LOL

    For me, some name calling in the heat of things is alright at certain times but the scene needs to demand it, if you know what I mean. There’s a time for down and dirty and there’s a time for something a little softer.

  4. Kaily Hart April 19, 2011 at 12:37 pm #

    I think like anything it’s all in how it’s executed. It has to fit the characters and the scene and it has to feel consistent with the story. Of course, readers are as diverse as stories. What one thinks is hot, another is turned off. Something like this has to be done with care if the story is about the relationship and not just the sex. I know I’ve read books where a word choice has pulled me right out of the story. You don’t want a reader going ‘ewwww’, but you also don’t want them scratching their heads and thinking ‘where did THAT come from?’ LOL.

  5. themightycharlottestein April 19, 2011 at 3:27 pm #

    I looooooooooooooooooooooove hot dirty talk, with or without a bit of name calling. I think it takes good sex writing up one stage to excellent, TBH. And your excerpt is great!

  6. Erica Anderson April 19, 2011 at 7:04 pm #

    Thanks so much for the great comments! If anyone can recommend some good ‘naughty talk’ reads, I’d love to hear what they are.

  7. Crystal Kauffman April 19, 2011 at 9:23 pm #

    I agree with Kaily again (I swear she’s like totally my long-lost sister) it depends on the scenario and it has to fit the character. But she’s right, a single word might rub a reader the wrong way. For me, that word is “crotch” I just can’t stand it for some reason.

    • Kaily Hart April 20, 2011 at 7:23 am #

      LOL, Crystal. I didn’t say it before, but sometimes a word just strikes me as funny. Just ridiculously funny. Like “pussy” if a woman is referring to her own in that way. Again, it really depends on context, but…yeah, that’s just funny to me and it’s generally used in a scene that’s not meant to generate that reaction :).

  8. Sasha Devlin April 19, 2011 at 9:31 pm #

    I’m all for it as long as I can sense the respect outside of that exchange. It can be incredibly hot when done right, or can ruin a book and turn into a DNF if done wrong. I liked the examples above. Yet more books for the TBR pile!

Leave a Reply

