So, Twitter…baby

13 Apr

I’ve learned a lot about social networking since deciding to become a writer and since becoming published as an author. Prior to that, I thought it was something that wouldn’t interest me in a million years. I mean, who would actually want to interact with strangers, strangers who could be anyone? Like a serial killer, right? Of course, I’d worked in computers for years. It was my old career after all, but this social networking stuff didn’t seem like something I’d take to. I dipped my toe in slowly. My blog was first. I struggled to think about things to write about. Seriously, I thought, who’d possibly be interested in what I had to say? It was a great exercise in discipline. I played around with it, posted my entries, figured out what I wanted to do with it and…found my groove. Who knew ‘build it and they would come’ could actually be applied to blogs LOL? And then I discovered, I not only liked to blog, I LOVED it. Huh. Never saw that one coming.

I figured I needed a web site soon thereafter, so created one in an evening with a front-end, user-friendly interface. It should be called ‘building a website for dummies’ it was so easy. Of course, it’s pretty basic, no fancy bells or whisstles, but I had one at least. Now, I’m looking to have it professionally redesigned and updated and I’m really looking forward to that.

Then it was…Facebook. I have to say it took awhile to get into the swing of things there. I like to be a person who knows the ins and outs of something and FB has its ‘quirks’. I’d sit staring at a blank status and think…what should I say? Now, it’s become second nature and I do really like the structured nature of it.

Next on the horizon? Twitter. I have an account. I follow people. I have followers, but haven’t jumped into Twitter perhaps as much as I could. Or should. Not yet, anyway. Just like with FB I think there’s a learning curve to get the most out of it and it takes a while to get the ‘feel’ for one of these social networks. Twitter for me seems to be like this fast flowing river. You have to just close your eyes and dive in. It kind of an all or nothing thing. You can drive by every so often. Well, you can but you might not get the most out of it that way. I hear others rave about Twitter and talk about its many virtues. I haven’t figured out if it’s a tool to connect with readers so much as a way to keep up with what’s going on in the industry, but I do want to get immersed in it for sure to see if it’s for me.

 So…do YOU Twitter? Any tips, tricks, suggestions and/or recommendations for an author about to jump in? Holding her nose, eyes closed and hoping I don’t sink straight to the bottom LOL?

5 Responses to “So, Twitter…baby”

  1. Lauren Fraser April 13, 2011 at 4:20 pm #

    I was kind of hoping you’d have some tips for me since I am terrible at the whole social media thing. I can never think of anything to talk about. LOL Not a good sign I know.

  2. daniellemonsch April 13, 2011 at 10:06 pm #

    I think it’s funny your mind automatically goes to serial killers. Hey, maybe only good old fashioned perverts want to follow you. Have you considered that? 🙂

  3. Nara Malone April 14, 2011 at 7:13 am #

    I first discovered Twitter during Penguin’s We Tell Stories Alternate Reality Game. They were exploring unusual ways to tell stories and one was through tweets between characters and readers. That was before Twitter was famous and most of my tweets were to people who weren’t real. Virtual life is strange that way.

    Twitter can still be a good way to introduce your characters to readers. Some of my favorite twitter feeds to follow are still fictional: @Madam_Natalie, @bronxzoocobra, @holygod, @tweetsfromhell, @LeMarquisdeBond

  4. Marilyn Campbell April 14, 2011 at 7:24 am #

    Knowing technology is your background it actually makes me feel better to read that you hesitated to jump in with both feet. As to the serial killer thing, hey I was married to a cop for decades & wrote psycho suspense so my mind still leaps there first when it comes to strangers! Answer for me is I’m still following your advice to take technology one step at a time and haven’t reached twitter yet.

  5. Kaily Hart April 14, 2011 at 7:40 am #

    Lauren, I follow the rule that if I think I don’t have anything interesting to say…I don’t say anything. These social networking sites are littered with people saying nothing. I really am not interested in what someone had on their salad for lunch or that they’re off to a doctor’s appointment, or that it’s raining where they are, etc. If it’s relevent or ties into something, sure, but that kind of noise turns me off. Also, there really is such a thing as TMI. Really. I would say post quality rather than quantity and always keep it professional. Each of the social networking tools has a different feel and way to interact and it takes awhile to get into each one. Take your time. Focus on one at a time and see how you like it!

    Danielle, I’m probably a bit paranoid like that by nature. And trust me. There are plenty of regular preverts to go around and I’ve had my share so far! The thing about social media, anyone can be anyone they want. Caution is key, especially with personal information. I still find it hard to fathom how much people share about their personal lives online and to strangers.

    Nara, I haven’t explored the Twitterverse from a reader perspective. Or as an author connecting with readers. Yet. I agree the possibilities are endless. It’s a balance between time investment and value.

    Marilyn, that’s worse case scenario of course, but it helps keep the cautious shutters on. I’d rather be a little parnoid than a lot sorry, even if it’s just getting some distasteful messages from one of these sites (which I have had BTW). You have to be careful, but the potential postivies for these types of tools is amazing. Yeah, one step at a time. I see you on FB frequently. I think you’ve got a great handle on it! You’re probably ready to at least create a Twitter account, following some folks you know (me!) and watch… It really can be fascinating :).

Leave a Reply

