Is it hot in here?

2 Apr

Writing has greatly affected the way I watch television and movies. It annoys the hell out of my husband. I like to break things down and try to understand plot and character development. Or I look at the mechanics of a scene–action sequences and love scenes are my favorites to analyze. The big screen is like a smorgasbord of inspiration for a writer.

This, of course, got me thinking of hot sex scenes. When I asked a few people from my little circle which movie moments came to mind, everyone had something different to say. There were a few common threads, but preferences were widely varied. I think the same can be said for erotic romance. One person’s yum may very well be another person’s yuck.

The following are a few of my favorite scenes listed in no particular order. Some include links to clips that are sexually explicit. Enjoy at your own risk.

9 1/2 Weeks – The blindfold “Does this frighten you?” The tension is palpable. I can almost feel the wet chill as John (Mickey Rourke when he was beautiful) torments Elizabeth (Kim Basinger) with that ice cube every time I watch this. The different senses are really played up and it’s a brilliant in its simplicity.

Unfaithful – I can’t How could I not include this one? It’s one of those scenes that leaves me gasping for breath and every muscle in my body tensed. Of course it begins with a heated argument. Intense emotions are a great set up for explosive sex. Paul (Olivier Martinez) follows Connie (Diane Lane) into the hall after she declares their affair over. Their fight gets physical and bleeds over to a rough, but erotic, back and forth. It ends with her begging him to fuck her in whispered tones after he tears her clothing off. Phew, I am getting hot just typing this. It is one of the single hottest moments on film.

The Recruit – The 40 second kiss. A kiss — desperate, and rushed, but perfect. It’s one of those have-to-have-you-right-now moments. James (Collin Farrell) says “It’s not enough time” and I want to melt. Not as explicit as some of the other scenes on my list, but still, very hot.

The Secretary – Come into my office… – Other than the painfully obvious, there are a few smaller details that really pull me into this scene. I love that you can so clearly see the moment he decides to take this beyond a normal working relationship. His soft, commanding tone always gets me.

The Queen of the Damned – bite me Change in the House of Flies by The Deftones really makes this scene for me. Of course the dangerous quality to the chemistry shared between Akasha (Aaliyah) and Lestat (Stuart Townsend) is also extemely erotic.

So now that you’ve seen a few of my favorites, I  want to hear from you. Which steamy movie scenes come to mind and why? Fill me in!

4 Responses to “Is it hot in here?”

  1. Marilyn Campbell April 2, 2011 at 10:17 am #

    Oh soooo many to choose from! But one I just saw the other night is from Pretty Woman, when Gere is in the hotel lounge playing piano and Roberts comes in to find him. When he picks her up and sits her on the piano the keys are struck…whew “is it hot in here” is defined in that one for sure!

  2. Nara April 2, 2011 at 5:54 pm #

    I can’t remember the name of the movie but there was this sex scene with chocolate cake on the stairs.

    I think the movie had something to do with a guy wishing he had a different life….the sex scene is the only part that stuck with me.

  3. Sasha Devlin April 2, 2011 at 8:08 pm #

    Ok,leave it to me to be the oddball here, but the scenes between Clive Owen and Rosario Dawson in Sin City were what immediately come to mind. The kisses they share practically set the screen on fire. It’s raw and gritty and never fails to make me say “Oh My!”

    • Mike Foster April 3, 2011 at 5:00 am #

      In Innocent Blood, Anthony LaPaglia prudently handcuffs gorgeous vampire Anna Parillaud before making love to her. In the peak of passion she SNAPS the handcuffs. (Flick also memorable for Don Rickles in a a straight role as a mob-lawyer-turned-vampire.)

Leave a Reply

