My bucket list.

1 Apr

The other day I came across an old list of things I intended to do before I kick it. It was written about ten years ago, long before the movie The Bucket List came out, but you know – same difference.

At the top of the list were two simple words: “Get published.” Followed by, “buy a new car,” “learn to water ski” and “have a threesome.”

Thus far I’ve done two of those things. I’ll let you guess which two. 🙂

At the top of my current list is “travel more.” Ideally, I’d love to take a musical tour of Europe, hitting all the major opera houses and summer music festivals. And maybe I will, once I write that New York Times best-seller and make a million bucks. But since I’d rather not hold my breath that long, I’ll have to be content with driving down to LA for the Romantic Times convention next week, as well as attending RomantiCon in Ohio in September and the GayRomLit retreat in New Orleans two weeks later. That’s a full enough dance card for one year!

Next, “learn to cook.” Honestly, I’m better at it than I was a year or so ago. At least I don’t burn boiling water anymore! I’m pretty good at your basic stir-fry and sautéing, but anything else is still iffy. I should probably take a class!

Finally, “learn how to do better promotion.” Because, frankly, even after three years as a published author, I suck at it. The best promotion is to keep turning out good books, and I fully intend to do that. But I also want to boost my visibility on Goodreads, guest blog more (here, on my own blog, and over at Dirty Birdies), and become more active on Twitter and Facebook. I tend to go into hibernation mode when I’m writing, which is a bad, bad habit, and one I need to break.

Tall order? Well, maybe. Nothing wrong with a challenge, right?

Speaking of which… if Nathan Fillion and Colin Firth are available tonight, maybe they can help me scratch another one off the list. 🙂

8 Responses to “My bucket list.”

  1. Amara Devonte April 1, 2011 at 10:40 am #

    Nice bucket list. Travel more is vera high on mine.

    I don’t know a darn thing about promotion, but you’ve always got my silly blog to help if it can. 🙂

    • Cat Grant April 1, 2011 at 4:08 pm #

      Aw, thanks! You’re a treasure, you know that? 🙂

  2. Marilyn Campbell April 1, 2011 at 3:12 pm #

    Hey Cat – good list! As long as mine was, I’ve checked off most of it – jumped out of an airplane, raced at Indy 500, got tattooed, etc. but now I have to add that one with Fillion & Firth!

    • Cat Grant April 1, 2011 at 4:07 pm #

      Never got tattooed, but despite my awful fear of needles, I did get one piercing. As for the threesome, feel free to substitute any two hot studs of your choice, because Nathan and Colin are MINE!!! 😉

  3. Mary Preston April 1, 2011 at 3:54 pm #

    I love it when I can cross STUFF off my list. Still a long way to go but since I intend to live for another 50 years I will pace myself.

    • Cat Grant April 1, 2011 at 4:13 pm #

      I keep adding stuff to mine. Now that I’ve done Nathan and Colin, I need to work my way through the rest of my “hot guy” list. 😉

  4. Bond April 2, 2011 at 5:23 pm #

    Ah, cherie, As it happens, two items on your list are specialties of mine. Stop by sometime and we can Cook Naked.

    • Cat Grant April 3, 2011 at 10:08 am #

      Thanks, Bond! But perhaps we should wear aprons, just in case! 😉

Leave a Reply

