I have that New Author smell

26 Mar

And you’re not wrong .  It is a heady combination of panicked sweat, determination and pink grapefruit.

Most writers would avoid an intro that made them seem so random, but I’m not your average romance writer (assuming such a thing exists) and why bother to lie?  You’ll only find out later when I start quoting the South Park Movie or insisting that disappointment has a taste.  Both of which I do on a daily basis.

I’m that rare writer who is an extrovert, as at home in a bar as I am alone in a library.  (Either way, I’ll probably end up boogieing).  I watch more cartoons than anything else, and love movies where things blow up.  I sing to myself in grocery stores, have a fondness for four letter words that borders on scary, and reply to all insults with “Your Mama.”

All of this combines into a some sort of goulash that helps me write angsty characters who aren’t afraid to get down and dirty …a lot.  I’m not sure how this works, but I must have done something right since my first book was published this week.  And yes it is hard to read this when my smile is about to split my face.

As  the Rookie on this All Star Team, I’m just hoping to live up to expectations.  Now …..who wants to touch me?

Sasha

You can find out more about Sasha by visiting her site www.sashadevlin.com. Or experience her random tweets by following @sashadevlin.com.  Her debut, In the Light of Day, is Now Available  Here.

18 Responses to “I have that New Author smell”

  1. Lanie Jordan March 26, 2011 at 3:41 pm #

    You really do have that New Author smell. I couldn’t quite put my finger on what it was. It’s one of those scents you know you recognize but can’t quite pin point what it is you’re smelling. Now that you’ve described it, it fits perfectly.

    Congratulations on the new release, Sasha. You already know the answer to your question. 😉

    • Sasha Devlin March 26, 2011 at 6:33 pm #

      Thank you Lanie! I thought you might recognize it, especially the panicked part.

  2. KJ Reed March 26, 2011 at 6:21 pm #

    I’m so super freaking excited you’re joining us!!! Yes!

    PS: Your book is hot. 😉

    • Sasha Devlin March 26, 2011 at 6:34 pm #

      Thanks, KJ. I’m *so* excited to be here. And having read your books, I know you’re a good judge of sexiness.

  3. cmtorrens March 26, 2011 at 6:22 pm #

    Congrats on your debut, I’m sure there will be much more from you to come. 🙂

    -Chris

    • Sasha Devlin March 26, 2011 at 6:34 pm #

      From your mouth to my fingers! Thanks Chris

  4. Jeannene Walker March 26, 2011 at 6:24 pm #

    *Sniff sniff* You doooo smell like a new author! You beez fresh and crisp. Congratulations love.

    • Sasha Devlin March 26, 2011 at 6:36 pm #

      I was practicing my crisp, but I wasn’t sure if anyone had noticed. 😉 Thanks, Jeannene!

  5. voireylinger March 26, 2011 at 6:41 pm #

    New author smell? And here I thought it was just honey-sweet rawr…

    • Sasha Devlin March 26, 2011 at 6:46 pm #

      *snort* Leave it to you to take me there. But I know you like the way I smeeeeeeeellllll

  6. Lauren Fraser March 26, 2011 at 8:07 pm #

    Smells good to me. Congrats on your first release.

    I’m so glad to have you join our group.

    • Sasha Devlin March 26, 2011 at 8:46 pm #

      Thanks for the welcome, Lauren. I’m glad to be here.

  7. Kaily Hart March 27, 2011 at 12:00 pm #

    Welcome, Sasha. Great to have you here!! And that new author smell wears off really fast! Congrats on your new release and here’s to many more!

    • Sasha Devlin March 27, 2011 at 9:38 pm #

      Thanks Kaily. I’m still having moments of “Hey, look who’s a real author now!” but hopefully I’ll settle down soon.

  8. Shannon Emmel March 27, 2011 at 3:24 pm #

    I L-O-V-E-D your introduction! LMAO!

    I remember when I was finishing the last few pages of my first book, I was reminded of something Marilyn (Campbell) once told me about the “Scent of Creativity”.

    Up until that point, I thought she was speaking metaphorically.

    As I frantically made the final push to “the End”, I had locked myself in a room. emerging only to grab cookies, a coke or a PB&J sandwich and had on the same sweatpants and t-shirt for 3 days.

    THAT was when I realized it was literal and that what she actually said was, “There are times when creativity has it’s own distinct smell”.

    Hmmmm…”Odor” is more like it, but it DOES come in quite handy if you’re intentionally trying to keep people away from you in order to finish a damned manuscript without stupid interruptions!

    Welcome to the family, Sasha! Sounds like you’ll fit in juuuuust fine!
    ;o)

    • Sasha Devlin March 27, 2011 at 9:45 pm #

      Thanks Shannon! And thanks for letting me know it’s not just me. 😉 These are the thing that should be in the manual

  9. Nara Malone March 27, 2011 at 7:57 pm #

    Congrats and welcome to the team. We’re so glad to have you here with us.

    • Sasha Devlin March 27, 2011 at 9:47 pm #

      Thanks Nara. I will do my best to live up to the pink awesomeness that is PR!

Leave a Reply

