Sex laws. Urban myth or reality?

25 Mar

The other day I saw an email about some funny laws that are currently in effect and it made me look for some of the sex laws that are still around. So I took to the internet super highway in the name of research, now as you know with the internet some of these may very well be urban legend rather than actual laws, I don’t know. Either way when I read them I just went HUH?

I sure hope they are all urban legend because otherwise that’s just unfortunate. *grin*

1. In Washington, D.C. the only acceptable sexual position is missionary, all others are illegal. OY, glad I don’t live there. LOL

2. In Florida you can’t get married if you are gay, adopt if you are gay. But marry your cousin? go for it. Have sex with an animal? You bet ya, just as long as it’s not a porcupine. What’s wrong with this picture? That’s just WOW.

3. In Willowdale, Oregon it is illegal to talk dirty during sex. Not sure how you enforce that one LOL

4. Oral sex is illegal in 18 states. Wow, that sucks.

5. In Minnesota, it is illegal for any man to have sexual intercourse with a live fish. WTF? Apparently it’s fine with a dead fish though. LOL Yowza.

6. In Utah, it is illegal to marry your first cousin before the age of 65.

7. In the state of Utah, sex with an animal–unless performed for profit–is not considered sodomy and therefore is legal HUH?

8. An ordinance in Newcastle, Wyoming, specifically bans couples from having sex while standing inside a store’s walk-in meat freezer LOL does this happen alot that there needs to be a law against it?

9. In Kingsville, Texas there is a law against two pigs having sex on the city’s airport property. Really?

10. In Alabama it’s illegal for a woman to buy a vibrating sex toy. WOW Guess you’re crossing the state line for your toys because everyone knows the best ones vibrate and it hardly seems fair for Alabama girls not to be able to enjoy.

If you happen to live in one of these places please pipe up and let us know if it is fact or fiction. And by all means, if you have any other ones to share please do.

~Lauren

http://www.laurenfraser.com

12 Responses to “Sex laws. Urban myth or reality?”

  1. Kelly Jamieson March 25, 2011 at 7:38 am #

    OMG those are too funny! I love this!

  2. Marilyn Campbell March 25, 2011 at 7:39 am #

    Too funny Lauren! I grew up in Pennsylvania where “Blue Laws” are still on the books that were determined over 200 years ago! And I can confirm about oral sex being illegal in so many places because I had researched it to use in one of my suspense novels!

    • Lauren Fraser March 25, 2011 at 10:17 am #

      NO oral sex? AHHHH. So glad we don’t have that law where I live. *grin*

  3. Laura Parmentier March 25, 2011 at 8:47 am #

    WOW- Thnak you Lauren for letting me know where NOT to live at or visit on vacation! I am up in the freezing state of Michigan where it is still illegal for men to swear in front of women and children (so I dont know if its suppose to be ok to swear behind their backs?!?) and it is illegal for a women to get her hair cut without her spouse’s permission . As far as illegal (and very old) laws regarding sex: sexual acts are not to be performed outside of the bedroom and are illegal if observed by the police if they look in through the house windows. But this is also the state where 4 police officers where placed on paid leave of absence for having sexual relations with the 911 operators during work hours… So I guess if there is a moral to this story- what is good for the police officer is not acceptable for the rest of the population of the state!

    • Lauren Fraser March 25, 2011 at 10:19 am #

      Definitely one of those do as we say not as we do things I guess. LOL

      So if men aren’t allowed to swear in front of women I guess that would carry over to the bedroom too. Bummer, no dirty talk allowed in Michigan either.

  4. Brandi Evans March 25, 2011 at 9:47 am #

    OMG! Too funny. But here’s another one for you…

    According to Article 125 of the Uniform Code of Military Justice, it’s illegal to get or perform oral or anal sex, either with a person or animal. (And yes, animals are specifically listed, LOL!)

    • Lauren Fraser March 25, 2011 at 10:21 am #

      Ouch. That sucks. *grin*

      Too funny that there needs to be a special little add on specifically for animals, you’d think it would be a given. LOL

  5. Nara Malone March 25, 2011 at 10:28 am #

    On the pig thing, can you arrest a pig?

    In Virgina you may not have sex with the lights on. Guess I better stock up on candles.

  6. Kahli Reid March 25, 2011 at 10:52 am #

    LMAO!! Very funny! Thanks for sharing! I’ll throw my own two cents in…

    #1 – Ok, so why wasn’t Clinton impeached?????

    #4 – “Oral sex is illegal in 18 states. ‘Wow, that sucks.'” Actually, it DOESN’T suck, which is the point! 😉

    #7 – So, if you get paid to perform bestiality (e.g., bachelor party stripper with a mule/horse), it’s illegal. But if she has a long-term relationship with the animal, she’s okay. Clearly this is an animal rights issue and they are concerned with the equestrian society getting their hearts broken.

    #10 – I used to live in Alabama years ago and a lot of counties were dry (no alchohol), too. No booze, no vibrators…no wonder everyone is bored!!!

    Very entertaining post, Lauren!!!

  7. Sasha Devlin March 25, 2011 at 11:49 pm #

    Just wow. This made me LOL *and* spawned a plot bunny.

  8. Shannon Emmel March 27, 2011 at 3:43 pm #

    I’m originally from West Virginia, and I add the disclaimer that I am NOT pregnant, I AM wearing shoes, and my family tree DOES fork on all branches.

    Having said that and being from West-By-God-Virginia, to the best of my knowledge, all of that shit is legal, or at least there’s no law specifically prohibiting it. Therefore, I think a gay man can legally be his Cousin Bubba’s Bitch, and when they split up they BOTH have to pay child support to Bubba’s sister…and her goat!

    I live in Florida now, and am currently not involved with any of my cousins or livestock of anykind, but WHEW!
    It’s such a relief to know Florida DOES allow it…just in case the “Family” decides to come down for a vacation.

Leave a Reply

