The Reckless Vagina

23 Mar

What is it about having a vagina that make some people automatically assume that you are a worse driver than someone with a penis? Is it because the penis resembles a stick shift, and most guys have been testing out their shift since they were 11? So they therefore have more practice?

I’d love to know what it is about having an innie sex organ that equates to being a horrible driver. Why does being a woman automatically make me a “probable bad driver” in some eyes? Sorry, pardon me while I take my reckless vagina for a spin around the block, looking for blind people and small dogs to hit. Blame the estrogen.

Until a few months ago, I had never in my ten years of driving received a ticket. My amazing husband, however, has received…several. I’m not the only one I know whose marriage is divided on the ticket issue…with the males coming out on the losing side. (Photo to the right of Karen from Will & Grace attempting to get out of a ticket. That sassy lady.)

So what is it? Does the general population assume women are more flighty? Less attentive? Less caring? Too into applying our mascara?

I am reminded of Mr. Mayhem, the new “spokesperson” for All State. The take on teenage girls is hilarious, yes. But still… This is not how most women drive.

I have to say…THIS seems more likely!

Do you think there’s a bias against women drivers?

________________________________

KJ Reed is an erotic romance author. She writes sexy contemporary stories featuring alpha men and the women (and men) who can’t resist them. You can find out more about KJ, get behind-the-scenes glances at her books, and catch up with her blog by visiting her site: authorkjreed.com

8 Responses to “The Reckless Vagina”

  1. Mary Preston March 23, 2011 at 2:05 am #

    I’m not the best one to reply to this having crashed through the front fence of our property. My son took photographs. We have the evidence & I am yet to live it down. OFF our property I am not a public menace. I have never received a ticket.

    • KJ Reed March 23, 2011 at 10:38 am #

      Oh. The stories from my husband’s youth could curl a mother’s hair. His own mother doesn’t know half of them! haha

      It’s okay though. I’ll tell you a secret…I’ve had a run-in or two with a fence. And a mailbox. And a telephone pole. And a cow…yes, a cow.

      But shhhh…that’s not the point! haha

  2. Marilyn Campbell March 23, 2011 at 7:28 am #

    Too funny KJ! Altho I have found the Mayhem commercials really funny, I noted that they have redone the teenage girl one several times in an attempt not to offend the entire gender. They didn’t quite succeed. Two reality points from moi – insurance companies charge more for boys under 25 than girls and having been married to a cop for decades I know that there are too many of them who will stop a hot chick just to see if she’ll offer them “a deal” to get out of a ticket.

  3. Kaily Hart March 23, 2011 at 7:49 am #

    I’m probably not a good one to comment here either :). Never had a ticket, never been stopped and never been invovled in an accident but I have no illusions. I’m an OK driver and really careful, but that’s probably all I can say LOL.

  4. Lauren Fraser March 23, 2011 at 3:14 pm #

    I’m a good driver but I do like to go fast, but I’ve curbed that since having the kids.In our house my hubby has had more tickets than me too. Although he’s not totally convinced it’s because he’s a worse driver since I’ve gotten out of a couple. LOL Hey there has to be some perks to living with the female driver stereotype.*grin*

  5. Sasha Devlin March 23, 2011 at 11:13 pm #

    This post makes me laugh til my stomach hurts. I think it might come from the fact that when women get tickets or cause accidents, we’re more likely to make a big deal about it (we might scream and/or cry) whereas guys just take accidents/tickets as a way of life and it’s always “that cop had it out for me!”

    That being said, I know *WAY* more guys with points on their licenses and tickets galore than ladies.

    And I ❤ the Mayhem commercials.

  6. Shannon Emmel March 27, 2011 at 4:32 pm #

    Unfortunately, some women are NOT very good drivers, and by the same token, some men aren’t either.

    The difference is that women are non-linear thinkers and multi-taskers by nature. Ww’re always doing something WHILE we’re driving so when a mishap occurs, it’s easy to blame it on that and label ALL women as bad drivers.

    Men, on the other hand are linear in their thinking and perception and should never attempt to multi-task while driving. By that I mean they shouldn’t even THINK about anything else BUT driving, when they’re driving because they are simply NOT equipted to handle it!

    In fact, even when a woman is involved in a traffic mishap, there’s a good chance that some guy cut her off or something similar, and then just kept right on going without even noticing, becasue he was too busy scratching his balls! What can I say…men DO have their priorities!

    (Please refer back to paragraph 3 and WHY men should NEVER multi-task while driving!)

    ’nuff said!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. The Reckless Vagina - March 23, 2011

    […] CLICK HERE to read the post and watch a few funny videos as well. Posted in Uncategorized […]

Leave a Reply

