Read an E-book Week and E-book Evolution

10 Mar

E-books turned 40 this year and it it feels like they have squeezed ten years worth of evolving into the last year.

Did you know this is Read an E-book Week?  I went around asking that question this time last year — at my local RWA chapter, at the local libraries, at stores and bookstores with e-readers to sell. The typical answer was: “What is Read an E-book Week?” When I tried to coax these same people into letting a group of e-pubbed authors hold a workshop to teach readers about e-books, e-readers, e-publishing — the unanimous answer was no. This year we’ve held and been invited to do several workshops.

As of March last year, I had owned some form of hand-held device for reading e-books for about 8 years. Yet, I had never walked into a public place and seen another person reading  e-book. Now it’s unusual to walk into a coffee shop, a beauty shop, an airport, and even the local Barnes and Noble and not see someone using an e-reader.

What changed? I’d like to think it was all my devoted blogging during Read an E-Book Week last year. I’d like to think the talented pool of authors at Passionate Reads has really made people sit up and take notice. I don’t think anyone doubts that erotic romance has been a driving force in the digital evolution of the e-book.

With that in mind, with everyone finally accepting that e-books are here to stay, I’m already thinking about where we can take books next. Tablet computers bring us a platform that is portable and versatile, opens the possibility of adding color, images, motion, interactivity, video, and sound to books.

This is the trailer for a remake of Poe’s poem, The Raven, into a visual novel for the iPad.

Pretty cool. Can’t you just see some lovely artwork, romantic music, a short sexy narrative as a future incarnation of the erotic romance? So what do you think? Are visual novels the next step in the evolution of the book?

And since it’s read an e-book week, what e-book do you have loaded up in your e-reader this week?  An erotic romance?

5 Responses to “Read an E-book Week and E-book Evolution”

  1. Marilyn Campbell March 10, 2011 at 5:18 pm #

    AN e-book? I have 6 waiting for me! Thanks for the notice, Nara.

  2. Jen B. March 10, 2011 at 8:02 pm #

    I just started Pack Challenge by Shelly Laurenston.

  3. Crystal Kauffman March 10, 2011 at 10:53 pm #

    I have to admit that for many years, I was the “print only thank you very much” crowd, but having been epubbed since spring 2009, I can also sort of consider myself one of the forerunners. I think it’s the wave of the future, and I admire the people who were courageous enough to embrace it before I was.

    The hand held devices are still out for me because honestly I can’t afford the one I want right now. But I do read plenty of ebooks. That was one of the reasons I sought epubbing for myself: I realized in 2008 I bought more ebooks than print books.

  4. Sasha Devlin March 11, 2011 at 9:50 am #

    I discovered ebooks about 5 years ago and most people thought I was crazy. I think the advertising push of Barnes & Noble’s Nook and Amazon’s Kindle have made the general population aware of ebooks.

    To treat myself for making it through a trying week, I’m gorging on ebooks this evening. My credit card will be weeping by this time tomorrow.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Erotic Romance: More than Words? « - March 24, 2011

    […] put up an example of a remake of Poe’s, The Raven, a couple of weeks ago [link] and since that time I’ve been trying to ignore a little voice […]

Leave a Reply

