Day Planners and Coloring Books

9 Mar

Women vs. Men

Venus vs. Mars

Day Planner vs. Coloring Book

Wait…what?

 

I was having a conversation with fellow romance writer and critique partner, Keri Ford, and it went a little something like this…

Keri: I found an article on something I need for research. I asked my husband if he’d seen that, and he said “Oh yeah, I did.” I’m writing a three-book series on this topic and he didn’t think to tell me about this article?

Me: Sounds just like something my husband would do. Only he’d add “I didn’t think about it.”

Keri: Sounds word for word what my husband said.

Me: They never think about anything more than what they’re doing at that moment.

And it occurred to me…that was mostly accurate really. It was just a sort of throw-away comment as we laughed about silly husbands. But it made me really think…this is true. At least, in my experience it is…

Women’s minds are sort of like a day planner. You open that thing up to any given week and you’ll find permanent things in pen. Tentative plans in pencil. Post-it notes. Scribbles in the corners. Scratches marking something out. White out. Lists. Notes. Reminders. Phone numbers. Dates. Maybe even a gum wrapper or two.

Men’s brains, from what I’ve seen, are more the equivalent to…a child’s coloring book. Open that thing up and you’ve got one picture per page. One simple picture, without much color. One focused “thing” each page. And someone else has to fill in the blanks.

Yes. This might sound sexist. And it’s mostly just a silly joke. But at least with Keri’s husband, and my own…it’s more like a very accurate—if amusing—analogy.

So what do you think? Do you think men and women’s brains are literally “built” differently?

PS: I shared this blog post with my husband who then told me to look this video up on Youtube. I had never seen it before, but it basically says exactly what I said…just using a different analogy. Plus, it’s really funny.

________________________________

KJ Reed is an erotic romance author. She writes sexy contemporary stories featuring alpha men and the women (and men) who can’t resist them. You can find out more about KJ, get behind-the-scenes glances at her books, and catch up with her blog by visiting her site: authorkjreed.com

5 Responses to “Day Planners and Coloring Books”

  1. Lauren Fraser March 9, 2011 at 12:14 pm #

    LOL I’ve seen that video before it’s pretty funny and so true. *grin*

  2. Marilyn Campbell March 9, 2011 at 1:22 pm #

    Oh most definitely I subscribe to the Men are from Mars school of thought. Once saw a joke where the woman’s brain was illustrated as a huge motherboard of complex circuitry and switches. The man’s…well you probably guessed – it had one button On/Off.

  3. Sasha Devlin March 9, 2011 at 7:50 pm #

    I was already laughing from your post, but the video pushed it over the edge. Men and Women definitely think differently.

    Oh the Nothing box….

  4. naramalone March 10, 2011 at 12:42 pm #

    Nothing boxes explain a lot. 🙂

  5. Minx Malone March 11, 2011 at 9:06 am #

    I love that video! It’s so true. Men and women are definitely wired differently.

Leave a Reply

