Crazy, sexy, scary?

5 Mar

Considering I’m new to Passionate Reads I’d thought about doing a good old introduction post, but what’s the fun in that? Since I don’t want to bore you with the mundane details of who I am or plug my books, I figured I’d jump right in. You don’t mind do you?

For a bit of background, I’m absolutely crazy about horror, have been from the age of five when I would watch old black and white monster movies on Saturday afternoons. I am also crazy about writing sexy stories. When Ellora’s Cave announced the erotic horror line, Shivers, I was downright gleeful. I currently have a project in the works that fits it well. Writing it has been so much fun, but I’ve been a little concerned with how it will be received.

Is there a place in erotic romance for horror?

Personally, I think horror has always had elements of eroticism even as far back as the classics. Dracula, in it’s own way, is a very erotic tale and it was penned over a century ago. I know what you’re thinking. The eroticism in Bram Stoker’s Dracula is a far cry from today’s burn-your-fingers hot fiction. And you’re right, but my point is horror and sex have always had a close bond. I think it’s much more prevalent in film than in fiction, but it thrives in both.

If we look at the slasher films of the Seventies and Eighties, we’d be hard pressed to find one that doesn’t have a sex scene or a boob shot. So why is it some horror fans, who don’t bat an eye at viscera mind you, cringe when they stumble on a sex scene in a horror novel? Of course that hasn’t stopped some of today’s top horror authors from including a good romp in all its explicit detail.

On the other side of that coin, will erotic romance fans be receptive to a good scare or gore with their sexual heat?

The book I’m working on now definitely has its share of stomach-churning moments. For all intents and purposes, it’s a zombie book. There just happens to be an intense relationship thrown in the middle of all the mayhem. I can admit, it’s a self indulgent project. I have no idea if it will sell. I hope someone somewhere will be interested in a story like this one.

I want to know what you think. Would you read a sexy story that was also scary? Are there certain elements of horror that would turn you off? Aside from necrophilia and such. I’m demented, but not that demented.

5 Responses to “Crazy, sexy, scary?”

  1. Jen B. March 5, 2011 at 6:27 am #

    I think you’re right that sexy and horror can go hand in hand. It is a fine line but it could be very interesting to read. On of my favorite authors is Karen Rose. While her books are not graphic or explicit on any count she definitely weaves the psycho with the romance very successfully.

  2. Marilyn Campbell March 5, 2011 at 10:18 am #

    Great blog Fallon! As an old-timer, I remember the days of being told that you can’t mix sci-fi with romance but that’s what I had a passion for and it turned out “they” were wrong. So you go girl and mix whatever genres you want!

  3. Lauren Fraser March 5, 2011 at 12:13 pm #

    I agree sex and horror are a fantastic combination. When danger lurks around every corner, adrenaline is pumping, emotions run high with your fear of imminent death. Uh yeah, kind of makes sense you’d want to celebrate life a little. LOL

  4. Kaily Hart March 5, 2011 at 2:33 pm #

    Welcome to Passionate Reads, Fallon!! I must admit when I heard about the new line “Shivers” I knew it wasn’t for me. I actually love horror as well. My hubby and I used to watch horror movies all the time. That came to a crashing halt when I became a mother. From that point forward I couldn’t watch that level of violence portrayed so visually and so graphically. It made my mortality that much more real I guess and now I had little people who depended on me. I didn’t want to think bad thoughts LOL. I think one of the challenges when mixing horror and erotic romance is probably timing and pacing and finding those times in the plot for the relationship to develop when the main charactes are probably fighting for their lives. It will be great to see what creative minds come up with!

  5. Sasha Devlin March 5, 2011 at 5:36 pm #

    This intrigues me. I have to admit to being scared of *tons* things and I often have characters that go out …out of range of “normal” in my stories. It will be interesting to see if I can pull it off. I’m anxiously awaiting the first release of this line.

Leave a Reply

