Tattoos. Hot or not?

23 Feb

I’m fascinated with tattoos. Just flat out fascinated. Of course, there’s tattoos and then there’s…tattoos :). There’s not much else that gets my attention more fully than a hot guy sporting a tasteful bit of ink. Does he have them anywhere else, like…somewhere I can’t see them? When did he get them? All together or over time? Why did he get them and what do they signify, if anything? Does he know how damn sexy they make him look? Probably, huh? And the writer’s mind is off, building scenarios and possibilities and yeah…weaving fantasies. And if you’re thinking what I consider ‘tasteful’? 

Something like this…

 

not this :)…

That leaves a lot in between that kind of has to be assessed on a case by case basis and if you’re wondering..nope, I don’t have any tattoos. But I probably would if I could. I know exactly what it’d be like too. I’ve been known to search the internet for designs (all in the name of research, of course 🙂 and have a pretty good idea. I’d pick something discreet, small, meaningful or symbolic, as well as something pleasing to look at. But I can’t. You see, I have a severe needle phobia ::takes a deep breath::. There I said it. It’s not like I haven’t had my share over the years—I have—I just can’t voluntarily sign myself up for having a million tiny needles every second. Okay, that’s probably an exaggeration, but it’s still A LOT, okay? Plus, there’s the real fear factor, not just of the needle itself, but of the high degree of probability that the tattoo artist would start and I’d chicken out after the fact. Who wants to have a partial design of something tattooed on their body for the rest of their lives LOL? I have enough “I love Lucy” moments as it is. Anyway, it’s funny and embarrassing, but whenever we’re up in Orlando at Disney with the kids? I always get a ‘tramp stamp’ at one of those temporary tattoo places LOL. Shhh, don’t tell anyone, all right?

Maybe one day I’ll find the courage from somewhere. In the meantime…I’ve pretty much discovered that the next best thing to having a tattoo is having the characters in my books have them. It has to fit the character and story above all else, but I think there’s a great deal of opportunity to build aspects of a character through a ‘quirk’ or an attribute like this. It’s fun to answer the questions I posed above for a character and it can become an interesting story element, another layer of the onion. I’ve got a few stories in the works where the heroes have tattoos. Adds another hotness factor to an alpha already doing okay in that department, but what the heck?

So…tell me what YOU think. Do YOU like tattoos? Do you like to read about heroes who have them? Heroines? Hot or not? Skank or swank?

Web – www.kailyhart.com

Blog – http://kailyhart.blogspot.com/

Facebook – http://www.facebook.com/kaily.hart

Twitter – http://twitter.com/kailyhart

12 Responses to “Tattoos. Hot or not?”

  1. fallonblake February 23, 2011 at 7:24 am #

    I have a slight tattoo addiction. I’ll admit it. I have several and plans for one or two more. It’s funny, I think I’ve said that for the last five tattoos…just one more lol.

    As for heroes and heroines having ink, my recent novella features a heroine who is a fetish model and covered in tattoos. I have another story in the works where it’s the hero who has ink. I think tattoos add a certain element to a character that says something about their personality, sort of the way a car or taste in music might.

    Personally, I love tattoos on men. Give me a guy with ink, tasteful mind you, and I’m hooked. I have to admit I’ve purchased more than one book because the hero had ink.

    Some readers like that kind of thing and others, not so much. It’s all in what you find attractive.

  2. samanthahunter February 23, 2011 at 7:52 am #

    My husband has a tattoo from his Navy days (hot) and a good number of the members of my family, it seems, have tattoos somewhere. I have had characters lately who have tats, and a heroine coming up in my bodyguard series who is completely covered with them (she’s also the artist), but for myself, I’m not so interested, especially since everyone has them now. I like to be different, so I guess I will remain untatted, LOL

    Sam

  3. Delaney Diamond February 23, 2011 at 8:57 am #

    I don’t want any, but I think they’re hot on men. Especially on their arms, or the designs that cover their arm and shoulder. Even on their chest too. In my current WIP, my hero has a tattoo of an Aztec god on his arm.

    But, like so many other things, I like them in moderation. Too much can be unattractive to me.

  4. Kaily Hart February 23, 2011 at 9:12 am #

    Hey, Fallon, it seems to me that most people who get a tattoo rarely stop at one :)! It’s all personal taste.

    Hi, Sam. They have become quite commonplace, haven’t they, especially with young kids? I’d still love one :).

    Delaney, yeah, a well placed, tasteful tattoo on a guy…Sigh…

  5. Marilyn Campbell February 23, 2011 at 10:25 am #

    When I turned 50 I got my first tattoo since I was determined to do everything I never dared when I was younger. It was custom and personally meaningful. And it made me feel sexy. Then I got 2 more to cover the scars of the old emergency caesarian. But as to whether I’m turned on by them, well,I think it still depends on the body.

  6. Lauren Fraser February 23, 2011 at 12:03 pm #

    I only have one and I love it, but it took me a while to figure out what I wanted and where. I had to factor in what it would look like when I was old. Oy, could be grim.

    Since I think they can be really sexy I do write a lot of characters that have them, but yeah, I’m steering clear of the guys that look like a leopard or the whole puff the magic dragon one. YOWZA! That would scare me not turn me on.LOL

  7. Crystal Kauffman February 23, 2011 at 10:16 pm #

    On men they’re okay, as long as their purposeful, but on women…not. Sorry anyone who has one, but I just don’t like them. I could never tattoo myself mostly because I change my mind so often. I get sick of my clothes faster than anyone else I know and I change my hair on a whim. I could never permanently mark my body. I like change too much!

    I do want to add that not having a tattoo has become a sign of uniqueness (and confidence), and is as much as a stand out as women without breast implants. It’s gotten to the point that I find small breasts more attractive than these overblown, gravity-defying basketballs that seem to have become the norm.

    Yeah, I said it. I like small boobs.

  8. naramalone February 24, 2011 at 10:50 am #

    I think tattoos are hot on other people. I have that same needle phobia. I’ve always loved wildcat tattoos.

  9. Kaily Hart February 24, 2011 at 1:43 pm #

    Go you, Marilyn. That’s great!

    I think I’ve seen that dragon one, Lauren. Why, right?

    OK, so I can comfort myself with the fact that I’m unique for not having one. Not chicken, just unique LOL. Great perspective, Crystal.

    Nara, phobias are the worse. Although, I might have gone crazy if not for that so perhaps there’s an upside :).

    • Karla March 3, 2011 at 7:32 pm #

      Definitely hot. And, the more meaning the tats have to the character (or real person, lol), the hotter they are.

      I have needle phobia, too–have fainted many a time when I’ve had blood drawn–but getting tattooed is different. It’s more like a bee sting sensation. G’wan, it’s not so bad… 🙂

  10. Kaily Hart March 4, 2011 at 9:00 am #

    Hey, Karla. Love your name and the spelling *filing it away* :). I agree. What they represent can be incredibly hot. Bee sting, huh? You do know a bee sting hurts, right? A LOT! LOL. Maybe, someday. I’m just worried I’ll start it, not be able to stand it and end up with a partial tattoo for the rest of my life!! Hubby laughs at me enough as it is LOL.

  11. shannonemmel May 10, 2011 at 2:15 pm #

    I have an appreciation for tatooing as an art form and frankly I’ve seen some MAGNIFICENT ink!

    Having said that, personally, probably not for me. I’m with Crystal…I like change and would be hesitnat to do anything permanent. (Please notice I didn’t say “never”…that’s permanent, too!)

    On men…Hell yeah! I think tats can be waaaay hot. My preference is tasteful, understated and strategically placed. (The Checkerboard face is a bit much. Wouldn’t know whther to kiss the guy or move my Knight to Queen 7!)

    On women…same rules apply, but women tend to get a little “flowery” with their choices in artwork. (Give me a dragon in full flight over a little butterfly anyday!)

Leave a Reply

