Science Fiction Romance

1 Feb

Ever read any science fiction romance (SFR)? I published my first SF erotic romance, The Antaren Affair, last year and discovered a small, but very enthusiastic audience. And I’m finding increasing numbers of both mainstream and erotic SFR books all over the internet and in my local bookstore.

You might think that SFR will be too science oriented. Or too militaristic. Or too darn weird. But I can assure you that there is as much variety in SFR as there is in any other genre.

Sexy heroes? Check

Broad-shouldered men in uniform? Check

Hunky mercenaries? Check

Hot, no-holds barred alien sex? Check

Carnivorous plants?

(Okay, that last one doesn’t have the same sex appeal as the other four, but you get the idea.)

My point is that erotic science fiction romance has steamy sex and mouth-watering heroes just like contemporary and historical erotic romance. It’s just set in space. Or on another planet.

Honestly, when I read—whether it’s a novella from Ellora’s Cave or a mass-market romance paperback, I’m looking to escape. I want to get away from office headaches, icy roads and cracked master cylinders ($1300? Really?).

So give science fiction romance a try. It’s a great escape. And I promise that the men in space are everything that an erotic romance reader could hope for. And sometimes more. A lot more.

So tell me–do you read science fiction erotic romance? Why? Why not?

3 Responses to “Science Fiction Romance”

  1. Jen B. February 1, 2011 at 10:35 am #

    Yes, I read Science Fiction Romance. I love both Science Fiction and Romance, so why not. And just like any genre, there are the good, the bad and the downright aweful.

  2. Marilyn Campbell February 1, 2011 at 6:42 pm #

    As a fan and author of sci-fi romance I hope those numbers just keep on rising so that you’ll keep on writing such great stories!

  3. Kaily Hart February 3, 2011 at 3:02 pm #

    Hey, Erica! I read SFR. Not a lot, but I enjoy a good romance and for me the genre doesn’t much matter. I have several story lines myself. I’m glad to hear there’s stories out there and readers! Maybe one day…

Leave a Reply

