Recipe for Getting Leid

13 Jan

Princess Lei

By the crack of great bodies against the glass sea
and the plumes of whales spouting
 I’ve been leid.

By  cumulus clouds collaring a rainbow
in ruffles and lace
 I’ve been leid.

By the harmony of coqui and surf at night,
by liquid bird song at dawn
 I’ve been leid.

By Pele draping Kilauea
in wreaths of red ribbon
 I’ve been leid.

 By the purr of a kitten,  glide of fur, caress of a tail
threading between my ankles
 I’ve been leid.

By warm brown arms, generous heart,
a necklace of shells and a whispered aloha
 I’ve been leid.

My wish
May you never reach the end of a day without being leid.

Aloha from Nara who is off to get leid on a black sand beach

5 Responses to “Recipe for Getting Leid”

  1. Brandi Evans January 13, 2011 at 4:13 pm #

    From the bottom of my heart, I would like to say…I hate you, LOL. You’re in Hawaii, and I’ve got snow on the ground for the first time in forever. *grin* Trade ya?

    • Nara Malone January 13, 2011 at 5:58 pm #

      Hey, We have snow here too. I saw some high up on the mountain top when I stopped on an overlook to watch the whales. 🙂

      • Brandi Evans January 13, 2011 at 6:29 pm #

        Ohhhh, you’re cruel. Cruel, cruel, CRUEL! 🙂

  2. nessa January 23, 2011 at 10:26 am #

    Thank for the wonderful wishes. Have a great time.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Recipe for Getting Leid (via ) « Nara Malone - January 13, 2011

    […] By the crack of great bodies against the glass sea and the plumes of whales spouting  I've been leid. By  cumulus clouds collaring a rainbow in ruffles and lace  I've been leid. By the harmony of coqui and surf at night, by liquid bird song at dawn  I've been leid. By Pele draping Kilauea in wreaths of red ribbon  I've been leid.  By the purr of a kitten,  glide of fur, caress of a tail threading between my ankles  I've been leid. By warm brown a … Read More […]

Leave a Reply

