For your viewing pleasure…

12 Jan

Inspiration. It comes in many forms and can be something quite different for everyone. It can surprise you with it’s timing, shock you with it’s source, blindside you with it’s depth. Especially for writers! And at least for me I’m usually without a pen and paper to jot anything down!

I’ve seen many authors talk about what inspires them while they’re writing. For some it’s music and they create playlists for each book, songs that arouse the senses and project a mood. For others, it’s story boarding, finding photographs of locations, and characters, detailing the story visually and in detail. For others, it comes in the form of research and over turning that one fact from which a story can explode. The forms are endless. For me, it’s a picture. Usually just one. I find THE picture that projects something of the mood I’m going for, reflects something of a character I’m trying to build and grow, highlights a feeling I’m looking for. It’s got to give me a ‘tummy tug’ to look at it. I couldn’t describe it to you as I’m searching for it, but I know it when I see it. I realize it might not say the same thing to another person, but for me, it says what I’m trying to capture and during the writing, I strive to capture it.

So…for your viewing pleasure I thought I’d share the inspiration picture for my hero from PAY UP. This is exactly how I imagined Rio Reyes to look. It projects the qualities I wanted him to have and he’s smokin hot. Sigh, right :)? I stared at this picture a lot while I was writing that book. Seriously, a lot! I’d use it when I was writing an intimate scene in particular. Having something visual like that helped me to put himself in the heroine’s place, imagining what it would be like to touch him, feel my body against his, have him kiss me, be under him. Whew *fanning myself*. It also helped me think about how Rio would move, how he’d act, what he’d think and how others would react to him. Yeah, it was quite the inspiration picture. ENJOY!

So…writer or reader, what inspires YOU?

7 Responses to “For your viewing pleasure…”

  1. Nas January 12, 2011 at 2:36 am #

    OOOOhhhh! I loved Rio and now I love the pic which inspired you!

  2. Grace Bradley January 12, 2011 at 7:19 am #

    Yowza! That is all.

  3. Maria D. January 12, 2011 at 7:38 am #

    I’m inspired by music, pictures and words…have to say your photo inspiration….is inspiring…lol…very hot!

  4. Kaily Hart January 12, 2011 at 7:38 am #

    Hi, Nas, glad you liked the pic!!

    Thanks, Grace. Yeah, Yowza about covers it :).

  5. Kaily Hart January 12, 2011 at 7:42 am #

    Maria, yeah, I hope that hotness came through in the book! I agree about words as well. I can read something and get a surge of reaction. There are some very powerful authors out there. I love reading a book that generates that kind of response.

  6. Brandi Evans January 12, 2011 at 1:40 pm #

    Nice! Apparently you and I were riding the same train of thought. Check out today’s Hump Day Hotties on my blog, LOL.

    http://brandievansauthor.blogspot.com/2011/01/hump-day-hotties-jan-12-2011.html

  7. Rula Sinara January 14, 2011 at 3:50 pm #

    Love that pic!!!

Leave a Reply

