Music to get you in the mood

11 Jan

Well I’m one of those people who firmly believe in the power of music and how the right music can fit any mood.  In my house the stereo is always playing in the background and I admit I’m one of those horrible people who always sings along.  When I watched that Ben Stiller movie the Heartbreak kid, the car scene made me look at my husband and say Oh God that’s me isn’t it? LOL  And embarrassingly enough, he didn’t answer. Not a good sign. OOPS, but I can’t say it’s stopped me from singing along. LOL

Because music is always playing I also tend to make up soundtracks for each book I’m working on. And yep I’m one of those weird people who likes to have it playing while I type.  Depending on the scene I’m writing the music on the stereo fits the mood.  My husband finds it funny that my playlists go from raw gritty deathmetal to sappy country in the space of a minutes, but hey sometimes it just works. LOL When I’m writing a really raw sex scene, I love having that hard metal beat pounding in the background but when you get to the cuddle scene it’s nice to have something sappy playing to set the mood. LOL. Yep you got it, I like to wine and dine my characters a little. *grin*

I mean how can you not get all gooey when you are listening to something like “Just the way you are” by Bruno Mars? It just fits the mood.

That being said I’m always looking for some recommendations on great music. So if you have any fire them my way.

5 Responses to “Music to get you in the mood”

  1. Kaily Hart January 11, 2011 at 10:04 am #

    Wow, making a playlist to write to sounds like…too much hard work :)! I like to have ‘white noise’ while I’m working. Music just seems to distract me. I admire writers who use music as inspiration!

    • Lauren Fraser January 11, 2011 at 10:57 am #

      I don’t really come up with a soundtrack ahead of time it’s more I have music playing and when I get to a certain type of scene, like a love scene or an emotional scene etc then I scrounge around until I find the right song and then add it to my playlist so by the time I’m done I have this fantastic soundtrack that completely fits the book. It’s perfect for the second second pass through on editing and I need all the help I can get. LOL

  2. Maria D. January 11, 2011 at 10:34 am #

    Lol Lauren! That scene cracks me up and I do resemble that woman somewhat- not as bad but if I’m in the car by myself….yeah totally channelling whatever music is on…lol

    • Lauren Fraser January 11, 2011 at 11:03 am #

      That’s totally me,(my poor husband.) Throw on a little Journey – Don’t stop believing and hell the air guitar comes out. *grin* But I would never subject anyone besides my husband and kids to my roadshow.

  3. Brandi Evans January 11, 2011 at 2:05 pm #

    I’ve long ago given up creating playlists…too much work, LOL. I let Pandora do that for me now. You should see all “channels.” Hard rock followed by opera followed by country. You’d think I have multiple personalities if you judged my mental state by the music I listen to. *grin*

Leave a Reply

