A Recipe for Change

6 Jan

tropical_dreams

Since we’re going to talk about change today, I’ll change things up, leave the Bond persona on the shelf and do this recipe myself.

It’s been a year now since I signed my first publishing contract. It’s like having a new baby — I thought I knew what I was in for, but I was not prepared for how completely this new addition to my life could take over and run me. In the mean time, just to keep me on my toes, life keeps serving up a random crisis every month or so. In April my business was flooded. Last week a cement truck tried to squash my car. Schedules have gone out the window and I promise myself I’ll get back on track just as soon as this demand is met or that fire is out. I have replaced sleep and yoga class with coffee and chocolate, and then I wonder why I spend half of every day trying to figure out where I put my car keys. Things like exercise and cleaning the house never make it to the top 100 on my to-do list. Some days I can’t fit a shower in until after midnight.

I feel like I’m buried in the struggle to make this new part of my new life mesh with the old. I love being published, writing stories, blogging, meeting wonderful authors and readers. I wouldn’t trade it for anything. Even so, I know it’s time to take control back and get life in order again before I burn out.

I used to wake up before dawn, write until breakfast time, go for a long run, and then let the chaos of my work day unfold knowing the toughest and most important items on my to-do list were behind me. Somehow the chaos has consumed that morning block of sanity that kept me centered. I called my best friend from college — the most organized person I know — and told her I need to get my sane self back. She said, “Me too and I have a ton of frequent flyer miles to use up. We should run away.” That was not the answer I expected, but hey, I can be flexible. 🙂

It’s hard to make change in the middle of all the same old pressures. Master Bond always says, “Se’ mettre au jus.” Basically that means throw yourself into the juice of a thing, take a bold chance, immerse yourself in something different. It’s not bad advice.

I’m planning to run away to a tropical island and live in a hut on the side of a volcano. I’ll wake up before dawn and write edits for the sequel to the Tiger’s Tale, then run on the beach and come home to breakfasts of fresh picked papaya and mango. I’ll research a new story, write some poetry, read some good books, do yoga under the stars.

If you want to serve up something different, you need different ingredients. Going to a place where everything is different, where the sun rises at a different time and I’ll be wearing a swimsuit instead of thermal underwear, gives me a sense of possibilities, of new ideas. Supposedly it takes three weeks to build new habits, so I’ll be gone 21 days. That’s my recipe for change.

What’s yours?

2 Responses to “A Recipe for Change”

  1. Brandi Evans January 6, 2011 at 6:06 pm #

    My change is writing in a new writing program and ditching Word. Don’t get me wrong, I like word, and I’ll still use it for editing, but sometimes just giving your eyes something different to focus on is enough to break your muse out of her/his funk. 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. A Recipe for Change (via ) « Nara Malone - January 6, 2011

    […] Since we're going to talk about change today, I'll change things up, leave the Bond persona on the shelf and do this recipe myself. It's been a year now since I signed my first publishing contract. It's like having a new baby — I thought I knew what I was in for, but I was not prepared for how completely this new addition to my life could take over and run me. In the mean time, just to keep me on my toes, life keeps serving up a random crisis ev … Read More […]

Leave a Reply

