Braving Black Leather

27 Dec

There’s a lot of talent at Passionate Reads. Authors at this site write historicals (like me, Erica Anderson), contemporaries, BDSM, shapeshifters, and older heroines.

I’m reading more of that last type the older I get and I’m finding that erotic romance–reading and writing it–can do great things to encourage exploration, instill confidence and let women know that being sexy has no age limit.

I’m going to go out on a limb here and confess that I turned forty this year. It was a Big Deal for a number of reasons. One of the biggest is that I’m single again after several years with a man I thought I would be with forever. (He had other ideas.) So I found myself living in a place I never expected (Alaska), far from my entire family (I’m from Florida), on my own and turning the big 4-0.

I’m not big on the whole balloons-and-parties thing, so to celebrate I went out and bought myself a piece of the most decadent cheesecake I could find. I also bought myself a Nook so I could stop hauling my laptop around to read e-books.

Somewhere along the way I figured out that I sort of like where I am and what I’m doing. Three years after my husband decided marriage just wasn’t for him after all (rolls eyes), I’m forty, I write erotic romance, and I have an income that lets me splurge on books.

And boots.

Knee-high black leather boots. 

With a matching black leather jacket.

Yep. This year I decided to stop wishing I could wear such things and actually wear them myself.

I have never owned a pair of boots that weren’t practical, snow- and rain-resistant, and completely and utterly ordinary. (Of course, I come from a family that believes that white cotton underwear and socks are wonderful Christmas presents. I remember a particularly memorable year in which my mother received a toilet scrub brush. Very exciting.)

Anyway, the point here is that purchasing black leather boots was a complete departure from the ordinary. And you know what? I feel totally hot when I wear them. With my black leather jacket. Which is neither waterproof nor particularly suited to Alaska’s weather.

And I don’t care.

Because finally, at forty, I’ve figured out that it’s okay to wear black leather boots if I want to. With my black leather jacket. And to write erotic romance about sexual fantasies that just might come true.

So I’m forty. And I’m planning to wear out those boots as fast as I can.

3 Responses to “Braving Black Leather”

  1. Jennifer December 27, 2010 at 1:37 am #

    …as someone who also turned 40 this year…you go girl! It takes us so long to realize that it doesn’t matter what someone else thinks only that we feel good about what we choose to wear…it’s okay to indulge 🙂

  2. MichelleKCanada December 27, 2010 at 11:34 am #

    As someone who is 42 I just wanna say…you go girl! Do whatever makes YOU feel great. It is sad that sometimes it takes a women to reach 40ish to realise that you just gotta do things that make YOU feel great and to hell with anyone who thinks elsewise. *hugs my red leather jacket*

  3. Candace Mewborn December 27, 2010 at 2:31 pm #

    Hey Girl, i say go for it wide open for whatever makes “YOU” happy!!!! I turned 51 on Halloween, so for me last year when i hit “50” was a real eye opener for me. I am trying to learn to do things that i want to do instead of what somebody else thinks i should do. For me it’s a real hard lesson to learn, i guess that’s why the pharmacy co. makes a killing on anti-depressants. LOL! Keep your chin up!
    HUGS,
    Candace

Leave a Reply

