Body Art

13 Dec

I was looking at my books and realized a lot of my hero’s and heroines have body art in various forms, from a simple belly button piercing on the heroine  all the way to a hero with an apadrayva and tattoos. And I have to admit I do think that tattoos and piercings can be really hot. I guess you figured that out or I wouldn’t write about them. LOL

On the right guy a properly placed piercing can be incredibly sexy. I mean there’s no denying this cowboy with his nipple piercings is YUMMY.  And as barbaric as it sounds, wowza some of those male piercings have some pretty fantastic results for their partner. *grin* But I do admit that for me the sex appeal of a piercing is all about moderation, personally I’m not a huge fan of a person’s body being completely covered, but a nipple ring or an apadrayva, yep those definitely have appeal.

And tattoo’s? You guessed it,  I love those too. A nice muscular chest or arm with a beautiful piece of art tattooed across it. Oh yeah, I’m a fan.  But like piercings, for me, I think in someways it’s about the choice that you make for the tattoo as to whether it is sexy or not. I’ve seen a lot of tattoo’s that I look at wonder just what the heck was that person thinking? LOL

I mean really? I like a good breakfast as much as the next person but I don’t think I’d want to have it tattooed on my body for the rest of my life. LOL

I know the hardest thing for me when I chose my own tattoo was deciding on something that I would never regret. I didn’t want to wake up one morning and look in the mirror and cringe, that’s probably why it took me a while to get one done even though I love them.  But I do realize that not everyone likes piercings and tattoo’s. My husband is certainly not a fan of male piercings. LOL

So what about you. Do you like piercings and tattoo’s or just one or the other? What about on women, do you like reading books where the heroine has body art?

16 Responses to “Body Art”

  1. Kara Thorpe December 13, 2010 at 8:40 am #

    I’m all for tattooing up the hero, but I’m kinda squeamish about piercings – maybe it’s my own fear of needles – but also when there’s a lot of action (not necessarily the *fun* kind) in a book, I’m thinking, “He’s going to get that caught somewhere or ripped out and… ouch!”
    I don’t think I have a “rule” about heroines, just so long as it’s not too distracting, I guess, like they’re always talking about their tongue ring or the tattoo of an ex’s name they can’t get rid of and regret.

    Thank you for the wonderful pictures – really brightened up a Monday morning!

    • Lauren Fraser December 13, 2010 at 10:33 am #

      Morning Kara, glad you enjoyed the pics. Nothing like starting your Monday morning on the right foot. *grin*

      I guess there always is the ouch factor. LOL that’s the beauty of fiction because we can leave that out. hehe

  2. Maria63303 December 13, 2010 at 8:49 am #

    I like small tattoos but not large ones and I like them in places that are somewhat discreet – something that I could share with my partner -not that everyone can see:)

    I’m not much on piercings at all- just don’t find it attractive on men and only like it on women in earings:)

    I guess I’m kind of old fashioned that way

    • Lauren Fraser December 13, 2010 at 10:36 am #

      I don’t think you are alone in not liking piercings on men. I’m the only one of my friends who likes them and like I said my hubby sure doesn’t.

      There is something kind of great about a discreetly placed tattoo. It’s kind of like a little secret.

  3. Miranda December 13, 2010 at 10:10 am #

    I’m an equal opportunity lover and enjoy high quality tattoos or piercings on both sexes. Especially if they dress classy as well, that is a lovely juxtaposition.

    • Lauren Fraser December 13, 2010 at 10:38 am #

      There are some truly gorgeous tattoo’s out there. Pure art.
      I like the contrast too. It’s like there’s these two conflicting sides of the person that somehow meld into one fabulous package. It’s fantastic.

  4. Cindy December 13, 2010 at 10:42 am #

    I love guys with tattoos…just not when they cover their entire body with them. I don’t really care for piercings…not my style. I was actually thinking about getting a tattoo of a dragonfly in memory of my sister, but I feel that it’s too soon to make that decision. I don’t want to jump right into it and then regret it later.

    • Lauren Fraser December 13, 2010 at 3:25 pm #

      I’m not a huge fan of having the entire body inked either, I like to see skin still. LOL

      I think if the tattoo has real meaning for you then you won’t regret it.

      I know I certainly don’t. I got mine to symbolize my love for my children and there’s no way I can ever regret that.

  5. Tracey D December 13, 2010 at 3:03 pm #

    Nice pics, indeed. I like one or two piercings on a guy (I really like the nipple rings!)

    I also like tats on them but I don’t like “sleeves” for some reason.

    I got a tattoo about 10 years ago; it’s a two inch ankh on lef left breast. I must say it is rather pretty, it’s dark blue with a light blue shading.

    • Lauren Fraser December 13, 2010 at 3:27 pm #

      Glad you liked the pics Tracey. Obviously I like the nipple rings too. 🙂

      The things tattoo artists can do with just a little shading is amazing.

  6. MichelleKCanada December 13, 2010 at 4:03 pm #

    Yep I like tattoos on men but the piercing on a man is just meh. I would rather the tattoo but a distinctive tat that means something and not all over the body.

    I find female nipple piercings very hot. Especially when they go together to get them done.

    • Lauren Fraser December 13, 2010 at 10:48 pm #

      Guess you’d know for sure who had a higher pain threshold if you went together. LOL

  7. Crystal Kauffman December 13, 2010 at 10:27 pm #

    I learned a new word today. Apadrayva. I’m leaning toward the I Don’t Think So side. I’m definitely an “all natural” kinda girl.

    I think nipple piercings look hot too, but I could never get one. (or two :)) I just think they look hot on other people.

    • Lauren Fraser December 13, 2010 at 10:49 pm #

      Ah glad you learned a little something Crystal, my job here is done.Haha. *grin*

  8. Kim S. December 14, 2010 at 3:03 am #

    Great post Lauren! Loved it! And of course I’d never heard of the piercing words above so had to Google. Then Hubs came into the room as I was ‘getting the definition’!! His eyes bugged out, he put his hands over his zipper and said “NOT A CHANCE!!” LMAO As to other piercings, I wouldn’t mind one…or two nipple piercings on him! HA I’m still working on that! And I might have set myself back with my Googleing!!

    And tatts….he has a large dragon on his upper arm that I have loved since I saw it! And our daughter has seven or so(?) and I love them ’cause they’re on her, but hate them ’cause they’re on her!! LOL (the Mom thing!! ;))

    As to me…I have no piercings(except ears!;)) and no tatts, but am thinking about a couple. I’ll leave it to your imagination as to where.

    And, why haven’t I EVER seen anything like those two guys at the tattoo parlor?? 😉

    (ps As a side note, after we finished checking out the piercing information(!), Hubs and I watched a video of a woman giving financial advice and she was giving suggestions on how to save for something important. She stated that she cuts out pics from magazines and hangs them around. The Hubs says “Gee, I wonder if she wanted nipple piercings, would she cut pics out of magazines of nipples pierced and hand THEM around?” O…M…G…then we got carried away with her husband wanting one *you know where* and cutting pics out and hanging them around and then them both comparing who’s saved the most money….what happens when guests come over and…we couldn’t go on from there we were laughing so hard!! Thank You sooooo much for this post! It was a great Monday/Holiday stress reliever!!)

    • Lauren Fraser December 14, 2010 at 10:32 am #

      Oh my gosh Kim that would be hilarious. It would certainly make for interesting conversation when guests came over if you had pics of Prince Alberts and Ap’s posted around your house. hehe.

      Somehow my hubby had the same response to the male piercing as yours did. “No way in hell.”

      You’ve got to google that kind of thing when he isn’t home. LOL

Leave a Reply

