Embarrassing Moments

8 Dec

I know we all have them, but for some reason I seem to attract more than my fair share. Things just seem to…happen to me and they’re usually very attention grabbing and extremely embarrassing. I’ve learned to live with them. Not much else I can do. Those who don’t know me very well probably just shrug it off. These things happen from time to time to everyone, right? But those that know me really well and over a long period of time? Yeah, they know this stuff finds me on a regular basis LOL. So, what am I talking about? Well…

There was the time I headed off to a job interview…in my slippers–happy, fluffy, dorky looking slippers–and there was NO time to do a round trip back home to change. It did occur to me on the way that my feet were especially comfortable LOL. I had to swing by a department store, run into the shoe department (in my slippers!) and buy the first pair of shoes I could see that would somewhat ‘do’. I really couldn’t afford a new pair of shoes and got the cheapest I could find. Anything was going to be an improvement on the slippers. I got the job, BTW :). Then there was the time I was in Toronto getting ready for a big, important presentation and I was ironing my only top. It was silk. Did I mention it was my ONLY one? I put a triangle burn mark right on the front where you’d see it through the V of my jacket. I couldn’t have ironed the bottom on the back first? Oh, no. I was speaking to about 400 people that morning. A number of women commented on the lovely and unusual design on my shirt. Yeah, thanks :). There was also the time I was running late and just kept my PJs on to drop the kids off at school. I never, ever, ever, EVER have to get out of the car. Except this day. One of the little ones had a massive tantrum, the teacher wanted to tell me something and the car behind me just had to be THE cute (aka hot as heck) Dad of the school. I swear he still laughs every time he sees me (and not with me, if you know what I mean). Then there was the time at RomantiCon this year where I spilt an entire cup of coffee over myself at breakfast.  It wasn’t just a spot here or there, it was a FULL cup all over my top, down the front of my jeans, even inside my badge (which I had to dry off with a hairdryer). And of course, I wasn’t alone at the table. It was a full house.

That’s just a small taste. Seriously. I have a whole repertoire, but some just seem to stick with me more than others. I don’t tend to repeat embarrassing moments, for which I’m eternally grateful but I have many, many, MANY more of them. I’m glad about them in a way. I have this unusual store of experiences to draw from to provide inspiration for my books–moments of light relief or just another layer of reality to a story or character to make it more “real”. A shaving ‘incident’ is mentioned in PICTURE THIS. That wasn’t just from my imagination, people :). I guess my point is, as writers, we take a lot from our environment, from our everyday, from our experiences, along with what we concoct from our imaginations and I have this rich source from which to draw.

SO…anyone (else) like to share their most embarrassing moment??

24 Responses to “Embarrassing Moments”

  1. Zina December 8, 2010 at 9:00 am #

    When I was in grade school I wore my slippers to school one day. The fist time I got married and the Bishop said to take each other by the right hand I kept putting my hand out and taking it back because I couldn’t rememberwhich was my right until I put my hand over my heart and started to recite the Pledge of Allegance.
    The second time I got married I started to cry and pulled some Klenix out of my bodice to wipe my eyes and blow my nose.
    Then there was the time my SIL walked in when I was getting out of the shower, we were both embarassed.
    Zina

  2. Lynne Silver December 8, 2010 at 9:11 am #

    My soulmate! I am full of embarrassing moments… My first one doesn’t really count because I was in labor with my firstborn and anything said in the delivery room gets a free pass…but…my anesthesiologist (sp?)was romance cover-model gorgeous. Like Dr. McDreamy himself. I couldn’t stop announcing it to all in the room in front of him. “Have you seen my doc? Isn’t he HAWT?” “You’re like one of the doctors from General hospital” I’d like to say the meds had kicked in, but no, it was all me.

    Second was going to my 10 year high school reunion with 2 different earrings on. A big silver hoop and a small gold dangly thing. um, hubby- isn’t that why I married you? So when I ask “how do I look” you TELL me. Don’t shrug 5 hours later and tell me you thought I’d planned it.

  3. Gayle O. December 8, 2010 at 9:11 am #

    Many, many moons ago, my hubby and I were in the woods enjoying the great outdoors, if you catch my drift when a troop of boy scouts heard our rustling. They asked their scout master about the strange noises. He was not pleased with our communing with nature and I almost died of embarrassment being caught in a state of undress.

  4. Kaily Hart December 8, 2010 at 9:46 am #

    LOL, Ladies!

    Zina, gosh I’m glad I didn’t include any of my school embarrassing moments. Slippers are nothin :)!

    Lynne, yeah during childbirth. Even without drugs you should be excused anything and everything!

    Gayle, oh yeah, you just reminded me of a whole bunch of other embarrassing times I’ve been caught (or almost)! Perhaps some new story ideas, even…

  5. Robbi December 8, 2010 at 9:58 am #

    My most recent embarrassing moment was at my son’s wedding reception. We had gone through all of the traditional stuff cake-eating, first dance etc. so I thought I would take a much needed “break” went into the bathroom, locked the door, or so I thought, (you get the drift of where this is going!) proceeded to get all of the mass of dress I was wearing sat down…and you guessed it the door opened! of course the person that opened the door wasn’t my hubby or another woman, oh no, it was my son’s bestman (did I mention he was a former Dallas Cowboy?) I’m not sure who was most embarrassed him or me! It was/is very hard to look him in the face after that!

  6. Shoshanna Evers December 8, 2010 at 10:41 am #

    Great stories, Kaily! I think one of my most embarrassing moments was when I was in the hospital as a patient. I don’t know if you know this, but in addition to being an author I work as an RN. So I’m used to being the nurse, not the patient! The patient in the bed next to me really needed to be suctioned, and when I came out of the bathroom I walked right over to the suction machine without even thinking about it and was *this close* to suctioning her when our nurse walked in and screamed “Oh my gosh, what are you thinking? You’re not a nurse today! Get back in bed!” Oh boy, was my face red. *shakes head*

  7. Kaily Hart December 8, 2010 at 10:55 am #

    Hi Robbi, Dallas Cowboy, huh? Nice…. LOL

    That’s so funny, Shoshanna. Still chuckling.

    Something in a prior post made me remember another really bad one for me – getting stuck in a public restroom…in India! That one could probably have a post all it’s own LOL.

  8. Helen Hardt December 8, 2010 at 10:59 am #

    Sheesh, where to start? Some are just too embarrassing to right down, lol. The time I got into the wrong car in the parking lot at Target? Or the time I thought my husband was behind me on the escalator and I found out I was having a conversation with a complete stranger? Yeah, I’m full of them!

  9. Anne December 8, 2010 at 11:20 am #

    I fell on the way to a job interview, destroying my nylons and giving myself two bloody knees. Was ultimately late and did not get the job.

  10. MichelleKCanada December 8, 2010 at 11:23 am #

    When I was in Grade 2 I forgot to wear underwear to school and my shirt was short (just like more little girls) I didn’t know until I sat on my desk chair. I was so embarrassed. In fact I am blushing right now and I am in my 40’s!
    I also had a parking garage moment. First time using our company parking garage I tried to enter through the exit, had to back up to go to the enter and then I went down the up ramp. All that embarrassed me but what was worse was that it was all caught on camera.

  11. bethp1980 December 8, 2010 at 11:33 am #

    So along the lines of communing with nature…when my first husband and I were still dating, we did the backseat of the car thing in a very well known “secret cubby hole”. We discovered it wasn’t all that ‘secret’ when, just as things were getting good, a police officer knocked on the window. We were both in various states of undress and that is the most embarrassed I have EVER been.

  12. Andrea I December 8, 2010 at 11:59 am #

    I came to our company’s Holiday party, got in the parking deck and realized I had my sandals on that I use when driving. I immediately left, went to a Marshall’s to buy a pair of shoes I couldn’t afford at the time. Then I came to the party. I’ve also gotten to work with them on, but it was at least jeans on Friday.

    • Kaily Hart December 8, 2010 at 2:58 pm #

      Andrea, sounds like my mad dash to the Dept. store to get shoes :). I didn’t say it in my post, but I returned my shoes after the interview and wore my slippers back out of the store. The poor woman took pity on me and let me take them back. First time I’ve ever done anything like that before, but I really couldn’t afford to keep them at the time…

  13. Kaily Hart December 8, 2010 at 12:00 pm #

    Helen, at the next conference we can sit down and compare! Yeah, the talking to strangers one is a particular favorite of mine 🙂 and I’ve put my packages in the back of someone elses car once LOL.

    Ouch, Anne. I don’t usually damage myself. Thankfully!

    Hey, Michelle I think by now you should let the 2nd grade incident go :). I’m still laughing about the garage one. That’s something I’m so likely to do. In fact, it’s probably in my future at some point!

    Beth, how classic…but priceless!!

    • MichelleKCanada December 8, 2010 at 3:33 pm #

      I had a typo, I typed shirt but I meant skirt.
      Also I think it was all the boys teasing me that had mortified me. I was a shy little girl and all that horrible teasing was aweful. Kids can be so cruel.

      • Kaily Hart December 8, 2010 at 5:57 pm #

        Figured you meant skirt. Yeah, I can see how that could be very traumatic.

  14. Laura Emerson December 8, 2010 at 1:55 pm #

    I had an interview for a job I had always dreamed of having. I bought new clothes and shoes to look good and build confidence. That morning I realized that my long hair had to be dealth with so I put it in a french twist braid. I was feeling so good and the interview was going better than I had hoped. As I stood up to shake his hand, my resume fell into the printer. I ever so delicately went to take it out when I accidentaly turned in on and as I leaned over to turn it off, my braid went from the back of my head into the printer. As the interviewer ran to turn it off, three other workers ran in to take my hair out. Needless to say, I did not get the job!

  15. Nas December 8, 2010 at 2:32 pm #

    I remember a similar one when I drove to the school in my pyjamas…that was the norm! lol..it was a five minute dash, drop kid and back home! and I had a puncture. Now I’m standing on the side of the road without shoes, in PJ’s and trying to change the tire! Never again. Now I don’t ever leave home without shoes and proper clothes.

  16. Kaily Hart December 8, 2010 at 2:56 pm #

    Laura, gosh to be a fly on the wall on that one. I bet at that company they still talk about that one!!

    Nas, I’m just impressed you actually changed your own tire PJs or not LOL. Go you!

  17. Sasha Devlin December 8, 2010 at 8:19 pm #

    Let’s see….I fell out of gazebo once. I also fell down a flight of stairs at my sister’s.

    The most recent one was wearing my shirt inside out for most of the day at work. I had to call one of the guys over to help me w/ some code and he asks me “Do you know you’re wearing your shirt inside out?” I immediately got up and went to the bathroom — sure enough, it was inside out. Tagless shirts are going to be the death of me.

  18. Fedora December 8, 2010 at 8:21 pm #

    Oy, I am completely blocking all embarrassing moments–I blush horribly at even the hint of something embarrassing, and I can feel that terrible rush of heat beginning even now as I ponder the possibilities… Yikes! Going to duck behind that door now!

  19. Kaily Hart December 8, 2010 at 10:11 pm #

    Sasha, you fell down a flight of stairs? Ouch. At least I don’t tend to injure myself. The shirt one is pretty funny.

    Fedora, you’re in good company. No need to be shy :).

  20. Rula Sinara December 9, 2010 at 8:02 am #

    Oh my 🙂 I’m laughing with you, Kaily…not at you! Let’s see, I’m a fountain of them as well, but two I can recall off the top of my head are the time I left the house in a hurry and had full eye makeup…on one eye only. Not a good look (and I had no back-up makeup in my purse). The other time was when I was a college student, unmarried, desperately shy, and unbelievably naive. We’d been put into lab groups, and I was put with two guys who kept chuckling and looking at me. I was still clueless after one commented on how cold the room was. It wasn’t until I had a bathroom break and saw myself in the mirror that I realized what was going on. You have to remember that I was extreeeeemly shy. Let’s just say that I’ve never again bought an unlined bra.

  21. Kaily Hart December 9, 2010 at 8:47 am #

    Hey Rula, the one eyed one is hilarious. I never carry makeup with me either so I can see how that could have been a challenge. Now I want to know how long it took you to figure it out and how :). The bra one…our worse fear? So much has happened to embarrass me that if I see any situation like that, I’ll just tell someone straight up because I’d only hope someone would do the same to me. Although, when I walked up to a stranger and say “your fly is undone”, “your shirt is see-through”, “you have lipstick on your teeth”, or “your skirt is tucked into the back of your panties”, I usually get an initial horrified look and then a grateful thank you. Your welcome :).

Leave a Reply

