Sometimes being a writer takes all the fun out of reading…

22 Nov

My inner editor can be a real b*tch sometimes. (Not you, Grace, LOL!) Don’t get me wrong, the inner editor is a great asset to have on my side when I’m polishing a manuscript for submission, but when I’m curled up on my couch with my Kindle…not so much. ๐Ÿ™‚

Here’s an example of what I mean. The following paragraph is from Nora Roberts novel The Search. I’m using this paragraph as an example to show you what goes through my head as I’m reading, even if the book is from a writer I truly like, like Nora…

And the wind was changing, she realized. [Delete “she realized.” In her POV. Know she’s the one realizing.] Goddamn it. Theyโ€™d adjust. Sheโ€™d refresh the scent again, give Peck a quick water break. Theyโ€™d nearly [adverb] clocked two hours in the field, and though Peck had alerted strongly [adverb] three times, sheโ€™d yet to see a sign of the boyโ€”a bit of cloth on a bramble, a print in the softened ground. Sheโ€™d flagged the alerts in blue, used orange tape to mark their progress and knew theyโ€™d cross-tracked once or twice. [Majority of paragraphs is telling. Show her actually doing these things.]

As you can see, the above paragraph was written well, despite my inner editor’s red marks. Now, imagine “hearing” those red marks in your mind while trying to read. You can see how this would get annoying, right? Paragraph after paragraph, page after page of my inner editor critiquing in my mind while I’m trying to enjoy a perfectly {THAT’S AN “LY” WORDS, BRANDI} good book?

But I soldier on through, LOL. After all, even she can’t take all the enjoyment out of reading. As a matter of fact, I’m on the prowl for another good book, and I’d like your input. So I offer you this challenge…

Reply to this post TODAY (Mon, Nov 22) with your recommended reads and you’ll be entered into a drawing for a $10 Amazon OR Barnes & Noble gift card so you can get yourself something to read too!

It’s just a little something to get your week started off on the right track and me on my way to another good read. Some good romantic suspenses/erotic romantic suspenses would be nice. ๐Ÿ™‚ Butย I look forward to all your recommendations!

Oh, and I almost forgot, my Ellora’s Cave Quickie, Exposed Desires, released on Wednesday! ย This sexy read is about a National Guard soldier about to deploy to Afghanistan and the woman who rocks his world with some serious PDA!

Until next time,
XOXOXO
~Brandi Evans

19 Responses to “Sometimes being a writer takes all the fun out of reading…”

  1. Rosalie Stanton November 22, 2010 at 2:36 pm #

    If you have any advice on how to turn off your inner editor, I’d be glad to take it. There are some books I start that I can’t finish because, despite my interest in the story, I keep noticing things the editor should have caught. It drives me up the wall.

    I’m pretty high-maintenance when it comes to fiction, though. Annoyingly so. >.>

    As for recommended reads, I have several.

    Dead, Undead, or Somewhere in Between by JA Saare (she just finished the sequel, too!)
    666 Angel Lane by Lori Green
    Lucifer’s Daughter by Eve Langlais
    Down in Flames by Sarah Ballance

    I think you’d really like anything by Saare, and since Tempted was a paranormal featuring angels and redemption and the like (and one of my faves of the year, btw), Lucifer’s Daughter and 666 Angel Lane would, IMO, definitely tickle your fancy. Both feature strong characters, engaging characters and a witty but breathtaking storyline. If you haven’t already added them to your TBR list, I can’t recommend them enough.

    • Brandi Evans November 22, 2010 at 5:26 pm #

      These sound like great rec’s, Rosalie! Actually, I’d already been on the fense about getting Lucifer’s Daughter. I admit the 1st person POV has me worried; for whatever reason, my inner editor gets even more annoying when it comes to 1st person. Who knows why, LOL, but if i ever figure it out, I’ll let you know. *grin*

      And thanks so much about your kind words about Tempted. It made my Monday to read that!!!! ๐Ÿ™‚

      • Rosalie Stanton November 22, 2010 at 8:06 pm #

        I’m a third person gal, to be honest. I don’t write from first and very select a first person book to read. However, on the flip-side, I’ve recently found that first-person stories (at least the ones I suggested) are incredibly well written. I likewise just finished a round of line edits for a first-person paranormal, and it was fantastic.

        Any book that can make me forget it’s in first-person is worth a read, IMO. ๐Ÿ™‚

      • Brandi Evans November 22, 2010 at 9:56 pm #

        Don’t get me wrong, I enjoy 1st person POV…when it’s written well. It needs to be genuine 1st person though, not 3rd person that just happens to use “I”. Know what I mean? ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Kaily Hart November 22, 2010 at 7:07 pm #

    Yeah, I’ve been there and can’t seem to get out of it either. It’s not so much that I’m analyzing every word choice or HOW the book’s written, I’ve just become more discriminating, I guess. Where before I’d forgive some things, now I’m less willing to do that (and more likely to just stop reading the book). I did read a NYT best selling author recently and there were spelling mistakes in the first chapter and repeated words that should have been caught during the editing process! Plus, I think some of what I used to get out of reading, I now get from my own writing. Whatever it is, my volume of reading has drastically reduced in the last couple of years and I’ve become very selective.

    • Brandi Evans November 22, 2010 at 10:03 pm #

      Same here! Obviously my writing is one of the reasons my reading has greatly been slashed in recent years, but I know it’s not the only reason. It amazes me how many more authors I used to like before I became an author myself. Is that odd?

  3. Lauren Fraser November 22, 2010 at 7:38 pm #

    Glad I’m not the only one to do that. LOL

    What kind of books are you in the mood for? Sexy, sweet, paranormal, suspense?

    • Brandi Evans November 22, 2010 at 9:58 pm #

      I was thinking the same thing. Yea, I’m not the only person who does that, LOL.

      As for what I’m in the mood for…I’m a romance whore. Does that answer your question? *grin*

  4. Mai November 22, 2010 at 10:05 pm #

    Awesome and funny post!! Congrats on your release also! I’m reading Afterlife from Joey W. Hill and it’s great, a must read author ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Brandi Evans November 22, 2010 at 10:21 pm #

      That one looks good too! My, my, my…what’s a girl to do… ๐Ÿ˜‰

  5. Fedora November 23, 2010 at 12:46 am #

    Hi, Brandi! I’m sorry–I have a background in editing and can sympathize with the difficulty in turning off one’s internal editor ๐Ÿ˜‰ I know that if the story’s a good one, it’s easier to shush that little pest!

    Some great reads/authors–Sarah Mayberry (mostly Blaze and Superromances–that woman can write so beautifully!), Shelly Laurenston/GA Aiken (she makes me laugh), Stacey Kayne (she writes Westerns for Harlequin)… More recent additions–Ann Aguirre/Ava Gray, and I finally caved and started Nalini Singh’s Psy-Changelings–cannot stop reading! Oh, and Susan Sey’s debut (Money, Honey) was fantastic.

    Good luck deciding on some new material to enjoy as a reader, Brandi!

    • Brandi Evans November 23, 2010 at 1:04 am #

      Oh, the Psy-Changelings sounds so intriguing! I’ll definitely be looking that one up. Thanks! ๐Ÿ™‚

      And I definitely agree, the better a story is, the more I can ignore my internal editor…because she gets lost in the story too, LOL.

      • Fedora November 24, 2010 at 1:08 am #

        Absolutely ๐Ÿ™‚ If the story’s meh, then I find myself nitpicking even more; if the story and characters have me hooked, I can overlook all kinds of stuff ๐Ÿ˜‰

        And hope you find a lot of recommendations to add to your list that’ll have you sighing with pleasure ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. Pamk November 22, 2010 at 7:31 pm #

    I love Nalini Psy/Changelings, and her angel series too. If you love fantasy I just finished C.L. Wilson last book in her Fading land series it called Crown of the Crystal Flame. But that’s a 5 book series. And I’m also reading Cynthia Edens’ Eternal Flame about a demon and ignitor. Love all of her books. And you can’t go wrong with Kresley Cole. Anything she writes rocks.

    • Brandi Evans November 22, 2010 at 7:36 pm #

      Oh yes! I love Cynthia Eden! It’s a recent love though so I’m still going through her backlist. But I try not to read one author for too many books in a row because I don’t want her/his voice to influence my voice. ๐Ÿ™‚

  7. Jeannene Walker November 22, 2010 at 7:48 pm #

    Brandi, The Iron Duke is an awesome read. Found it very stimulating and refreshing from a new writer’s
    point of view.

    • Brandi Evans November 22, 2010 at 10:05 pm #

      By Meljean Brook?

      • Fedora November 24, 2010 at 1:10 am #

        I’m guessing yes–there’s a loosely connected novella in the anthology Burning Up. The other stories are by Nalini Singh–yes, connected to the Psy-Changelings–Virginia Kantra, and Angela Knight. Come to think of it, if you like shifters, Virgina Kantra’s Children of the Sea series is really quite wonderful, too–selkies ๐Ÿ™‚ And the covers are beautiful!

  8. jennifer mathis November 23, 2010 at 7:18 am #

    I’m reading Kresley Coles Immortals after dark series and I’m enjoying them
    meandi09@yahooo.com

Leave a Reply

