Vampires and Werewolves and Demons Oh My! The Moment of Disbelief

17 Nov

I was awakened at 5:30am this morning by the police pounding on my front door. If it’s ever happened to you or if you watch ‘Cops’ on tv, you know the police knock on the front door like they mean it. My husband was already up and in the shower at the time, and I’d fallen back asleep as I usually do after the alarm goes off at 5:15.

The reason I’m blogging about this today was that during this jarring incident, I experienced a sensation that I later realized I’ve experienced before. I call it the Moment of Confusion, followed shortly thereafter by the Moment of Disbelief.

(no, that’s not what these cops looked like ha ha)

First I’m jolted awake by what I recognize as pounding on the door. I know when I hear this sound while I’m in bed, that’s what it has to be. But I’m still asleep, so it’s the second set of four raps of the night stick pounding against my front door that really jar me awake. I get out of bed and look down the dark hallway toward the front door and see light.

This is when the Moment of Confusion hit. Bizarre as this may sound, I thought maybe I’d awakened from a nap to my husband pounding out pork tenderloin in our kitchen. I kid you not, I shout “Is that you?” before I come to my senses and realize there is no one in the kitchen. The light was actually coming through the upper windows on our front door from the floodlight sensor.

While subconsciously I expected this to be the police (because who else would pound on my door like this at 5:30am) for safety’s sake (and also because I was in my undies)  I ran to the second bedroom and stuck my head in my husband’s tiny bathroom to tell him someone was pounding on the front door. As I turn back, I see through my plantation shutters a figure flying over my back fence. This was the Moment of Disbelief. While subconsciously I knew it was an intruder, my rational mind tried to convince me it was actually one of the giant leaves of our banana tree blowing in the wind. After all, a person has never jumped over our tall fence before, and certainly not at 5:30am.

I ran to the front door (having grabbed a pair of shorts and jumped into them first) and peered through the peephole, fully expecting to find uniformed officers standing on the other side. Yes, a fugitive had jumped my back fence to flee the fuzz.

Once the police were gone and two of three car breakers were caught, I could reflect on the odd Moment of Confusion and Moment of Disbelief I experienced.

In striving for realism, I realize I need to give my heroine her own Moment of Confusion, and Moment of Disbelief in the romantic suspense manuscript I’m working on when her car is blown up by terrorists in the first chapter.  “Was that my car? Wait a minute, that couldn’t have been my car!”

Have you ever experienced something so shocking your mind refused to accept it, even if just for a few seconds? I think we sometimes too readily let our heroines accept the hero is a werewolf, or don’t give her the proper amount disbelief. We’ve become so desensitized by horror movies that we read (and write) or characters the same way. But consider your own Moments of Confusion and Moments of Disbelief. How did you react?

It has happened to me several times before, most notably when I saw a naked man (he was wearing cowboy boots) standing by the side of the freeway masturbating for all to see during rush hour traffic. Moment of Confusion (is that what I think it is?) followed by Moment of Disbelief (no, it couldn’t be).

Yes, it was.

* * * *

Crystal Kauffman writes erotic romance with a dash of suspense.  There are no Vampires or Werewolves or Demons in her next release, Wild at Heart coming from Lyrical Press at the end of this month, but there is plenty of passion and a hint of danger, and of course, a happy ending.
http://www.crystalkauffman.com

7 Responses to “Vampires and Werewolves and Demons Oh My! The Moment of Disbelief”

  1. Marilyn Campbell November 17, 2010 at 12:37 pm #

    Wow! What a crazy way to start a day. Sure hope it improves rapidly. On the upside, I have often found that something like that triggers ideas for new stories…

  2. Kaily Hart November 17, 2010 at 2:29 pm #

    Gosh, that’s a bit terrifying. Glad to see you did what we writers do – immediately try to figure out how we can use it in our books LOL!

    • Crystal November 17, 2010 at 4:47 pm #

      If I’d been home alone you would have found me cowering in the closet. It’s amazing how much more courageous I am when hubby is home 🙂

  3. Meg K November 17, 2010 at 4:26 pm #

    While I don’t mean to laugh at you, I definitely mean to laugh with you. God, that was hilarious. Thanks for sharing that with me. Also, the last part about the naked dude on the side of the highway getting his jollies off in rush hour. I laughed rather hard and my dogs now think I’m nuts. Still, thanks for sharing. 🙂

    • Crystal November 17, 2010 at 4:48 pm #

      I wish I’d had a camera that day in the car. I know someone must have, but I have never been able to find pictures of it on the internet.

  4. Lauren Fraser November 18, 2010 at 5:49 am #

    Well thank goodness he had on his boots. LOL

    Sorry you had such a wild wake up call, but at least you might get a plot bunny out of it.

  5. Cara Bristol November 18, 2010 at 11:46 pm #

    Really great post. You’re right about needing to allow our heroine and heros to experience the moment of disbelief. Too often, for the sake of moving to the next plot point, we allow them to accept things too readily. “You’re a vampire…oh, okay…”

Leave a Reply

