What do you want in a hero?

20 Oct

Well I’m deep into writing this story and I realized I’m not sure if my hero is overly likeable. Sure he’s gorgeous and has a nice body but maybe I’ve taken this alpha male thing too far.

Staring at the pages,  I’m wondering if I can reel him back in and redeem him or is all hope lost and this guy is just not going to work as a hero? How horrible can a man behave and still be a good hero in a story?  I’m curious because I want to smack my hero and I know he comes around in the end and has a good heart, but right now, Urgh.

As a reader I love reading stories with Alpha male heros, they’re strong and confident and I love a great bad boy who just needs the right woman.

A tough warrior that’s never been tamed. You know the type I’m talking about, those delicious powerful men.







Although a great Beta male also has his own appeal; there’s something to be said for a guy who makes a great best friend, that person you can always rely on who’s so in tune with you he can read you like a book. Now that can definitely make things hot in the bedroom with the right man.

I have to admit I love conflict in a story, and I like the big tough man who fights his feelings every step of the way but when he finally succumbs to his emotions, WOW, he falls hard.

Now looking at what is working and not working in this story it got me wondering what do readers like? Do you prefer that sexy alpha male or do you like a bit more passive hero and gravitate to the beta male characters? What really makes a hero work for you and what makes you want to chuck the book and never finish reading the story?

6 Responses to “What do you want in a hero?”

  1. RC October 20, 2010 at 8:41 am #

    You know I don’t think I can tell you exactly what makes a guy a hero. I don’t have a preference either. What I do require, and this is a not negotiable quality, is that a guy love his girl above all others. You know that “I’ll do anything for you” kind of love. *sigh*

  2. Lauren Fraser October 20, 2010 at 4:16 pm #

    Oh I know exactly what you mean. That’s exactly what I’m talking about when I said when he falls WOW.

    • Nara Malone October 20, 2010 at 10:03 pm #

      I like a tough alpha male. In 9 1/2 Weeks the male protagonist was a harsh guy, but the way he was with his collection of cats showed his softer side. I think when you have some hint of a softer side it helps a reader keep believing the hero will learn to show that side of himself to the heroine in the end.

      • Lauren Fraser October 20, 2010 at 10:54 pm #

        Ohh yeah, loved Mickey Rourke in that movie. Too bad he looks so yikes now.

  3. Kelly Jamieson October 20, 2010 at 10:32 pm #

    What Nara said!! I like a tough alpha hero that shows a soft side. I just finished Seize the Fire by Laura Kinsale -tough on the outside, scared on the inside. When he adopted the baby penguin, I just melted for him.

    Having said that, I can like a beta hero too…

    • Lauren Fraser October 20, 2010 at 10:54 pm #

      Thanks for stopping by Kelly. I haven’t read that book yet I’ll have to check it out.

Leave a Reply

