Interesting places we go for research.

19 Oct

Last Friday I found myself in the company of fellow Aussie writers Lexxie Couper, Jess Dee and Maggie Nash. I love getting together with other writers but this particular get together was a little different. You see we were on a research mission, so armed with lots of questions we headed for Sexpo. And yes, Sexpo is exactly what you think it is. The Australian Health, Sexuality and Lifestyle Exhibition. The key word in that title is sexuality. This show is all about sex. From toys to tits to tats, oh and men painting portraits with their cocks! Yep, it’s all there. For those wanting a little more info and the odd picture, read on…..

First thing we see when we enter is this….

And this….

And that pretty much set the tone for the whole day.

Yes, I was a little speechless myself. But that didn’t last long, in no time at all we were asking questions about how this or that “toy” worked. One lovely gentleman gave us a very hands-on demonstration of more than one gadget in his stall. A few of which might even have found their way home with me. *grin*

The hit of the show, and no I didn’t take home one of these but I am thinking of getting one in the future, was this little device…

Another interesting product, this one aimed at the male attendees….

Ahem, yes it feels like the real thing. *grin*

I did notice though that it seems we’ve moved into the fashion arena with our “toys”. They’re available in colors never before seen and each one appeared sleek and sexy before you even picked it up. At some point in the last few years the adult toy market has gone fashionable to the point that most come with silk pouches to keep them in. But what really got me was all the colors and how stylish most of them were.

One “toy” I didn’t come home with but I definitely plan to buy is this one….

I want one for my desk. How cool would that be sitting there right next to my monitor? Talk about inspirational. Speaking of inspirational….

I have no idea what could have inspired this guy to start painting with his penis. *shakes head* To each his own and whatever floats you boat I guess. But this has all got me curious, what’s your favorite “toy” and why? Do you even own one? Do you prefer to play with a partner or on your own? Inquiring minds want to know. *grin*

Rhian

10 Responses to “Interesting places we go for research.”

  1. Marilyn Campbell October 19, 2010 at 10:49 am #

    Funny, weird and cool all at the same time! Now I have to research whether such an expo happens closer to home. Thanks for the vicarious visit Rhian

    • RC October 19, 2010 at 11:03 am #

      It was the best day! Fingers crossed you find something similar closer to home Marilyn. Of course you could just plan to visit us down under for next years Sexpo. *grin*

  2. Lauren Fraser October 19, 2010 at 5:22 pm #

    The closest I can think of in the states is the AEE/AVN convention in Vegas. I’ll have to look and see if there is something closer because that looks like a blast. Although I’d have to find someone to go with me because it wouldn’t be nearly as much fun by myself. LOL

    I’ve heard good things about the we-vibe but I haven’t bought one myself yet, but I think after reading Madam Natalie this week I’m going to have to purchase a vibrating cock ring because that one looks pretty fun.

    • RC October 19, 2010 at 10:49 pm #

      Definitely more fun with a friend. *grin* I might be able to point you in the direction of someone that bought one….*wink*

  3. Brandi Evans October 19, 2010 at 6:18 pm #

    OMG, how much fun! I’m so jealous, LOL. We definitely need one in the States. 😉

    • RC October 19, 2010 at 10:50 pm #

      It was the best day, Brandi. We’re already planning next year. I highly recommend going if you have something similar in the US.

  4. madamnatalie October 19, 2010 at 6:38 pm #

    Oh la la…

    This is certainly my kind of Expo, er Sexpo. I’d certainly love to know more about it. Maybe you and the other ladies who attended would like to share a little more on one of my columns? There is so much we could talk about! I’ll be in touch…

    • RC October 19, 2010 at 10:51 pm #

      Happy to answer any questions you might have Madam Natalie. And I’m sure the other ladies would be willing to talk as well.

  5. Nara Malone October 20, 2010 at 8:38 pm #

    I’m starting to think I’ve lived a sheltered life. Hmm..my favorite sex toy is my lover’s mind. That and rope.

    I wonder if that guy sells many paintings and do the buyers all know where the paint has been.

    • RC October 21, 2010 at 9:12 am #

      Nara I KNOW I live a sheltered life but damn it fun jumping the fence from time to time.

      The painter paints while you wait. And yes that lovely portrait was of a woman sitting just off camera. He tours the country with his weird painting show.

Leave a Reply

