Looking Back in Time

18 Oct

by Marilyn Campbell

What would you say is the most significant event or amazing development of the last fifty years? How about the last fifteen? Those were questions I had to consider while rewriting In and Out of Time, an erotic time travel romance to be released by Ellora’s Cave on Friday, October 22nd.

I say re-writing because the story was originally published in the previous century under the title Out of Time. My hero, Mark Templeton, is a liberal journalist who is framed by the KKK for murder and sentenced to death in Atlanta in 1965. Rather than being electrocuted, he is miraculously transported to the present where romantic suspense author, Kelly Kirkwood is researching his old case.

Creating a contemporary time travel, rather than the more traditional historical, requires the author to look at what has changed much more closely. Indoor plumbing isn’t a surprise to the traveler but motion sensor-controlled flushes and water faucets are.

Besides dramatically and graphically raising the heat level between the couple, I had to update every scene to reflect actual events, cultural shifts and technological advancements that have occurred over the last fifteen years. That turned out to be a heck of a lot more than I initially realized. When I wrote the original story, Mark stated that the biggest shock was that an actor, who had been upstaged by a chimp, had been elected president. Considering he was a liberal Yankee from the sixties, you can probably guess how he reacted to Obama’s election. Besides politics, he was impressed by the advanced technology of the nineties, a time when very few people had mobile phones and the world wide web was a newborn babe.

Obviously the rewrites required were extensive but I had a lot of fun asking everyone what they thought I should include. So now I’m asking you. Send me a comment and let me know what event or development immediately comes to mind for you. Then the next time you and your friends run out of margarita-conversation, ask them what they think has been the most significant development since they were born. I’ll bet you’ll be surprised by the different answers you’ll hear.

2 Responses to “Looking Back in Time”

  1. Nara Malone October 18, 2010 at 11:40 pm #

    I think the thing that has most impacted my life is the e-book. I live in a rural area where fifteen years ago my library books were checked out and returned by mail. The current access to information and books via the web saves me hours of driving and gives me access to libraries all over the world.

  2. Bond October 19, 2010 at 12:06 am #

    I think the Internet is the most important invention because it allows me to live outside the covers of a book. 😉

Leave a Reply

