KJ Reed’s Ten Commandments of Writing

12 Oct

Yes, it’s true. I have Ten Commandments of Writing. And it’s also true that they change. Constantly. Something that might be important in my life right now could be completely obsolete in a year. So I don’t keep these as absolutes. They’re always changing, always shifting, just like my life. And that’s the amazing thing about our job as authors. It is ever evolving. It grows with us. It doesn’t hold us back. And the minute it does…time for a new set of Commandments.

What are my personal Ten Commandments of Writing? Keep looking to find out! And leave a comment telling me what YOUR current Commandments are.

 

And they all said…AMEN.

10 Responses to “KJ Reed’s Ten Commandments of Writing”

  1. Elise Hepner October 12, 2010 at 2:58 pm #

    I love the last one lol

  2. Inez Kelley October 12, 2010 at 2:59 pm #

    AMEN!

  3. Keri Ford October 12, 2010 at 3:13 pm #

    Yes, ma’am!

  4. Babette James October 12, 2010 at 10:20 pm #

    Excellent list. And now, to obey No. 10– back to work. 😀

  5. Brandi Evans October 13, 2010 at 2:01 am #

    LMAO! 🙂

  6. Kaily Hart October 13, 2010 at 2:42 am #

    Great list! I love the one about not comparing your work with others. We each have our own voices and our own stories to tell!

  7. Lauren Fraser October 13, 2010 at 5:30 am #

    Great list.

  8. Marilyn Campbell October 13, 2010 at 11:12 am #

    Soooo right! I also command myself to write SOMETHING every day, tho must admit there have been days when it is just my To-Do list.

  9. Crystal Kauffman October 14, 2010 at 2:44 am #

    #3 is the one I need to obey. Self Doubt is a little gnome who lives under my couch. He has sharp teeth and razory claws and he really stinks.

Leave a Reply

