Cook Naked: Drunken Buñuelos

9 Sep

Bunuelos_san_anton
Bond: Bite into the forbidden. This slogan and today’s recipe come from our guest, author Kele Moon. Kele cooks up hot, forbidden love in her new novel, Beyond Eden, released yesterday from Ellora’s Cave.

I asked Kele to join me in whipping up something that might deserve a spot on the forbidden food list. Luckily, you and I are not the deterred by prohibitions or inhibitions, n’est-ce pas?

So, Kele, tell us about your new erotic romance and the Drunken Buñuelos.

Kele: In Beyond Eden, three life long friends come together in a modern day Garden of Eden tale. Dark and sensual, it’s certainly a taste of the forbidden!

To celebrate release day, we’re making Drunken Buñuelos. As Tampa’s rich Cuban culture and food plays a role in Beyond Eden, it seemed the perfect choice. Buñuelos are certainly an indulgent, decadent dessert and we’re going to do them Cuban style, served with a cinnamon and star anise hot syrup as opposed to powdered sugar.

They are fabulous like this and as with most things of a decadent nature–They taste best sticky and hot . *grins*

Bond: Mmm…thinking how fond I am of hot and sticky. *evil smile*

Sorry, I’m getting off track here.

Now, in France the beignet is a fruit-filled, fried-dough treat. Another form of the beignet (made famous in the New Orleans French Quarter) is a fried-dough square sprinkled with powdered sugar. The Cuban beignet’s Kele has for us today will make you forget any other kind ever existed. But, not many people know the traditional Cuban foods, like yucca and malanga. Tell us more about this, where we can find them.

Kele: It’s strange, but living in Tampa where Beyond Eden is set, Yucca is such staple. I forget others haven’t heard of it. I honestly can’t tell you where to buy them. I get them at the grocery store, usually frozen –

Bond: Frozen? Frozen! Cover your ears, mes amis. Or, maybe I should say cover your eyes.

Kele: “A French Chef, I am not. I’m the shortcut queen of cooking. I use my free time to write sexy stories instead.”

Bond: Well, having read Beyond Eden, I can forgive the shortcut. But, today you have a French Chef to help you discover the difference between the fresh and the frozen. We peel and cook one pound each fresh malanga and yucca. It is a slower way, but think of it as foreplay. You need to prepare the mind, the body, tease them with the scents of a meal. Build the heat. Just like sex, it is so much more satisfying when the craving is built over time.

Kele: Er. Yes. Heat…

Moving right along. Yucca’s a root vegetable. Though in this dish it’s used as an ingredient in a desert.

Bond: Exactly, and as a root we want to cook until it is tender but firm. No one wants mushy roots. This is so, Kele?

Kele: No. No mushy roots. Um…where was I?

Bond: Yucca root.

Kele: Right. It’s also a popular side dish cooked with olive oil, lemons, garlic and onions. Really fantastic. Christmas for me is yucca, black beans and rice, roasted mojo pork and–Drunken Buñuelos

Bond: Your book release is worthy of a Christmas-like celebration. In advance I prepared the root. Yucca root and Malanga root. They have drained and cooled.

Kele, I let you do the mashing. Yes, use your hands. We need to have the full experience of the preparation, feel skin-to-skin,  know when it is just the right texture, the right balance of moist without being too sticky.

*Watching Kele reduce roots to mush with her pretty fingers. Mopping my brow with the dish towel.*

While you mash, I’ll add an egg, plus about a couple pinches each of ground anise and salt. Last we add the flour, enough to make a nice dough, not too sticky, about ½ cup. Use what feels right to you. Then roll the dough in six inch long sticks.

What is this look Kele gives me as she shapes the dough sticks? She flirts with her eyes. We don’t need them that thick, Kele, or that shape. Mon Diue. She knows this. *Mopping brow again*

Shape the dough into thin sticks and then twist in the traditional figure eight shape. Drop them into preheated deep fryer. Use tongs and stand back, careful you don’t get splattered.

While Kele tends the hot oil, I make the syrup.

Putting two cups of water and a cup and half sugar in a saucepan, bring to a boil. Keep stirring while you add a handful whole star anise and 2 lime rinds.

Now the fragrance of the spices rise up in the steam. Your nose tells you when it is ready. The melding aromas reach out to tempt, calling like a lover, inviting you to taste her.

Kele: Gosh, I’m getting hungry thinking about it! I’m tempted to rope you into making me a five-course meal to celebrate my release—And I mean roped in the sexiest way possible, of course!

Bond: And I would absolutely rope you in a sexy way. *Wiggling eyebrows* Oops, those buñuelos smell ready. Quick, quick. Let’s get them to the serving plate. Now, Kele, the secret ingredient.

Kele: A quarter cup of rum, coming up.

Bond: You add the spirits and I’ll add the syrup. Ah, perfection. That’s right pour all over them, soak them good.

*Lifting a taste of the forbidden to Kele’s lips. Watching the buñuelo drool rum and syrup, her tongue coming out to catch. Wondering where I left that rope.*

This, mes amis, is paradise. Whip up some forbidden buñuelos and feed them to your lover while you read Beyond Paradise out loud. Get hot and sticky together.

~Bond

P.S>

You can grab a copy of Beyond Eden at Ellora’s Cave


You can visit Kele’s Blog to learn more about her.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Le Marquis de Bond is a fictional French Chef from Nara Malone’s novel, The Dungeon Gourmet, available now at Ellora’s Cave.

11 Responses to “Cook Naked: Drunken Buñuelos”

  1. Tibby Armstrong September 9, 2010 at 5:07 pm #

    Hi Kele!

    Danny Boy can feed me buñuelo any time! 😉

    Thanks for taking me “Beyond Eden”!

    Tibby

    PS: I am a Danny Girl! *grins*

  2. Lauren Fraser September 9, 2010 at 5:16 pm #

    I am really enjoying Bond in the kitchen. Mmm, mmm,mmm. Those Buñuelos sound really good as well.

    Looking forward to reading Beyond Eden, Kele.

    • Kele Moon September 9, 2010 at 6:17 pm #

      Tibby! LOL! You’re a Danny Girl? Really?

      Lauren, I can’t wait to hear what you think! And LOL! Bond, he is pretty sexeh, isn’t he?

    • Kele Moon September 9, 2010 at 8:17 pm #

      Thank you, Lauren! I’m so excited for you to read it!

      And isn’t he sexy, that Bond! A man that sexy who can cook tooo. . .

      ::grins::

      Kele

  3. Bond September 9, 2010 at 8:36 pm #

    Thank, you ladies. Lauren and Tibby will have to come spend some time in the kitchen with me.

  4. Kelly Jamieson September 9, 2010 at 9:38 pm #

    As usual Bond is sexy in the kitchen! Congratulations on your release Kele!

    • Kele Moon September 10, 2010 at 7:21 pm #

      Thank you!!! And he is quite sexy, isn’t he?

  5. Grace Bradley September 9, 2010 at 9:56 pm #

    Sweet and sticky. How can you go wrong? I’m sure Bond would agree. Congratulations on your release, Kele. It’s exciting to know that Paul, Danny and Eve are now “out there in the world”.

    • Kele Moon September 10, 2010 at 7:22 pm #

      Thank you, Grace! I’m excited too! So excited I think I’ll have a excitement hangover for a month! LOL!

  6. Kaily Hart September 13, 2010 at 3:04 pm #

    Sounds delish. The food, too :).

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Cook Naked: Drunken Buñuelos (via ) « Nara Malone - September 11, 2010

    […] Bond: Bite into the forbidden. This slogan and today’s recipe come from our guest, author Kele Moon. Kele cooks up hot, forbidden love in her new novel, Beyond Eden, released yesterday from Ellora’s Cave. I asked Kele to join me in whipping up something that might deserve a spot on the forbidden food list. Luckily, you and I are not the deterred by prohibitions or inhibitions, n’est-ce pas? So, Kele, tell us about your new erotic romance and the … Read More […]

Leave a Reply

