Pretty Women

16 Jan
working_girl_coat_crop

Working Girl by Nara Malone

1. Movie Night

“She’s so pretty,” I whispered.

“And she knows it,” my sister said, dragging an afghan over her daughter, concealing slim legs and new curves.

“I say study hard. I do my best to ugly her up–wrong clothes, bad haircut. All that pretty keeps punching through.”

I punched the button on the DVD player, slid Pretty Woman into its envelope.

“It’ll be okay,” I said.

Neither of us believed it.

2. Candle in the Wind

“It’s too pretty out,” my sister said.

It was. Funerals deserve a rainy day.

She leaned into me.

She didn’t ask why. We knew why.

I asked, “How?”

She was shaking her head as if denial could change results. “She ran off. Some guy gonna make her a star. You know?”

I did.

We held hands. Her nails dug crescents into my palm as dirt showered the pretty coffin.

3. A Star is Born

My sister visited the hospital. My new daughter wailed, but I couldn’t touch her.

“What’s this about?” Sissy said, bustling over to tend the baby. She froze mid-reach.

My heart fell from hope to hell, tumbled like a star. “You see it too?”

Her hands went to fists. “She looks like Arielle.”

She gathered me in her arms. We rocked each other. “This time will be different,” she promised.

I wanted to believe.

~Nara Malone

A somber 69er threesome today with the focus on verbs. The word limit of each verse made this a challenge. All I can say is that at least one of my verbs rocks. This is my contribution to dVerse Poets Meeting the Bar. Stop by and see what others wrote or to join the fun yourself.

13 Responses to “Pretty Women”

  1. naramalone January 16, 2014 at 4:06 pm #

    Just a side note. This is my hundredth post here at Passionate Reads :)

  2. brian miller January 16, 2014 at 4:59 pm #

    hey, congrats on 100….and what a sad tale…i like how you broke it down into little snippets of progression through the life of the family…oy, will it be different? what will she do different to make it so…the middle story, my fav, well done…

  3. Grace January 16, 2014 at 5:07 pm #

    Congrats ~ And I like the progression of the story ~ The second part though stood out for me ~ Happy Thurs/Friday ~

  4. coalkissed January 16, 2014 at 5:46 pm #

    I like how you broke down the story into 3 scenes. The last writing left me wondering what was next. The middle writing jumped off the page the most for me.

  5. Mary January 16, 2014 at 6:08 pm #

    Quite a story here! I like the way you divided it into the three parts. The second stanza really moved me greatly. SO very sad.

  6. Victoria C. Slotto January 16, 2014 at 8:49 pm #

    Such an undercurrent of sadness, tragedy even, in this one, Nara. Nicely tied in to cinema.

  7. claudia January 16, 2014 at 10:46 pm #

    oh heck… you did well… and the boiling them down to 69 words makes it all the more effective

  8. ramblingsfromamum January 16, 2014 at 11:31 pm #

    I can only reiterate what the others have commented on – see what happens when you leave things to late :-) An unusual chain, but well written and I liked the middle and the final write – well done and congrats on your 100th post :-)

  9. anmol(alias HA) January 17, 2014 at 2:09 am #

    A tragic tale of beauty and loss. I liked how you progressed from one event to another. Vivid verses and great choice of verbs. The second scene is written really well.
    -HA

  10. Gabriella January 17, 2014 at 7:45 am #

    My favorite portion is Candle In The Wind. I guess we like the natural elements to reflect how we feel.

  11. Glenn Buttkus January 17, 2014 at 11:09 am #

    A terrific trio of 69’s, and a touch of mystery between the stanzas. I did like #2, but somehow MOVIE NIGHT set the tone for me; love the sense of prose, that remains poetic.

  12. Björn Rudberg (brudberg) January 17, 2014 at 1:04 pm #

    Great tale that’s been told too often…the three part just made it all the better..

  13. kaykuala January 18, 2014 at 6:03 pm #

    Clever way of extending a progression of the 3 snippets. They are beautiful with lots of emotions involved. I like the last one. It brings a finality. Nicely Nara!

    Hank

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 283 other followers

