Guest Blogger: Cynthia D’Alba

17 Feb

*This post is proudly a stop on the TEXAS TWO STEP Blog Tour. For a complete listing of all stops on this tour, please visit here. All contests are for U.S. residents only unless otherwise noted. Comments left on this blog will be counted toward the Texas Two Step Faithful Follower Gift Certificate. To see a complete listing of Blog Tour Prizes, click here. Be sure to check out the freebies. Yours for the asking as long as they last.*

Thank you to Brandi Evans for hosting me. I sure miss our Starbucks runs!

Today I want to talk about telephones and that oh-so-important first call from “him.”

When I was growing up, cell phones didn’t exist, which may be impossible for some of you to imagine. Girls were known to sit home waiting by the phone for “him” to call. (I confess to waiting for some boy to call me!) And trust me, girls would circle like a hawk around the house phone. No one was allowed to make a call in case “he” tried to call. Heaven forbid if “he” got a busy signal. What if “he” never called back? And if some family member had the audacity to receive a call (and thus tie up the single phone line), the powerful evil eye delivered by the household teenage girl could end that call quickly. My house didn’t even have call waiting, so no way could this oh-so-important boy ring in.

And privacy for that call when it finally came? Forget it. No private telephone in my room. No personal telephone number just for me. If I wanted to whisper sweet nothings in “his” ear, I had to carry the entire phone with its 30 ft cord down the hall and get in the closet. My parents at least put a 30ft cord on the receiver of the kitchen wall phone, but I could only make it to the stairs leading to the basement. Not a lot of privacy there. And forget getting a phone call at my grandparents’ house. They were on a “party-line” phone, which meant they shared the line with other houses. Anyone could (and did) listen in on calls.

Fast forward to today. Some of you have had cell phones for as long as you can remember. You never had to deal with the long phone cords that were necessary for privacy. You have no idea what a “party-line” is (which is a shame as those were quite interesting.)The idea of staying home “in case of a phone call” sounds like a joke. Today, you toss your smart phone into your pocket or purse and go. Heck, “he” doesn’t even have to call. “He” can email, text, Facebook or Tweet you and your phone will get the message.

Texas Two Step, my debut book, begins almost ten years after my hero (Mitch Landry) and my heroine (Olivia Montgomery) meet. To build up to the release, I’ve written a few vignettes from their early dating years. Today’s snippet from Texas Two Step-The Prequel is The First Phone Call. Click HERE to read it. If you are just joining into Texas Two Step-The Prequel, links to the first three short stories can be found with today’s installment of The Prequel.

Now, let’s talk about that first call you got from “the one.” Were you on a cell phone? At home? At the mall? Were you nervous? Excited? Giggly? Did your stomach flip? Your mind go blank? Tell me about “that” call.

Today’s TTS Blog Tour Prize

Many guest bloggers can offer a copy of a backlist book to be given away as a potential prize for a blog commenter. As a debut author, I don’t have a backlist. But I do have some awesome author friends who have stepped forward and offered one of their books as a prize.

Today’s TTS Blog Tour Author Sponsor is Turquoise Morning Press author Keri Ford. Keri will send Uninhibited in Apple Trail, Arkansas Vol. 1 to one lucky person who leaves a comment. To find out more about today’s Blog Tour Sponsor, you can visit her website, Twitter or Facebook.

To learn more about me check out these links: website , Facebook. Twitter, Group Blog , and Personal Blog.

And if those aren’t enough, Sign up for inside scoops and special contests by receiving the newsletter I share with my blog buddies.

Remember! Leave a comment for a chance to win Keri’s book!

Texas Two Step is available for preordering at Samhain, Amazon, and Barnes & Noble and I will be forever in your debt if you would buy it!

The Blog Tour Continues on Monday with The Date, Part One.

31 Responses to “Guest Blogger: Cynthia D’Alba”

  1. Lisa Collins February 17, 2012 at 8:37 am #

    I have wanted to read about Apple trail for a while now. Thank you for the great post for my coffee break!

  2. Cynthia D'Alba February 17, 2012 at 9:19 am #

    Hi Lisa! Thanks for leaving a message. Keri is a sweetheart for offering up her book for me to give away, isn’t she? Good luck with the contest.

    Be sure to check out The Prequel

  3. Dale Mayer February 17, 2012 at 11:49 am #

    Hi Cynthia,

    Thanks for the trip back into the days when I waited for ‘him’ to call. What a horrible time teenage years are! I think I had those reactions to every phone call, sideways glance, every stolen glimpse on every single crush!

    Love the blog tour. Major congrats on your success!

    • Cynthia D'Alba February 17, 2012 at 12:51 pm #

      Thanks Dale. Remember trying to whisper so your parents wouldn’t hear? LOL LOL

      Congrats on your success also

  4. Margaret February 17, 2012 at 11:50 am #

    I was in my twenties before I succumbed to the “waiting for him to call” crap. When my now-husband asked me for my phone number, I told him don’t bother taking it if he really had no interest in calling me!

    He called three days later and we’ve talked every day ever since then.

    • Cynthia D'Alba February 17, 2012 at 12:53 pm #

      My hubby didn’t call because I wouldn’t give him my phone number. Instead he found out where I worked and sent me flowers on the Monday after meeting me on Friday.

      I’m pretty sure that’s the last flowers he’s sent me! LOL

      thanks for coming by

  5. Judith Keim February 17, 2012 at 11:55 am #

    Cyndi, So funny to think back to those days. Not only is communicating by phone so different but all forms of communication are very, very different! I cannot imagine me as a teen back then on facebook and twitter!! You are so vulnerable when you’re “out there” in the social network. Imagine trying to keep everyone from wasting your time when you’re waiting for “him” to send you a special message!!.

    • Cynthia D'Alba February 17, 2012 at 12:55 pm #

      And kids today don’t spend DAYS planning what they were going to do on the weekend. We’d start planning by Tuesday for that weekend. Now, with cellphones and texts and facebook, plans are made about 5 minutes before.

      Thanks for coming by!

  6. Liese Sherwood-Fabre February 17, 2012 at 12:15 pm #

    My “one” was a blind date when I was studying in Mexico. As I recall, he promised to call me the next day, but made me wait three days before he finally did! After that summer, we spent four years writing letters and making the occasional phone call (when international calls cost a lot of money!). I’m sure AT&T was sorry when we married.

    • Cynthia D'Alba February 17, 2012 at 12:57 pm #

      Laughing at AT&T’s loss! That’s why their stock went down! I dated a guy who lived in another town (about 70 miles away.) A call from him was LONG DISTANCE!!! No telling what his bill was but I remember monitoring how long we were on the phone. Since we were in high school, I remember him calling from a phone booth and the money clinking as he feed the telephone. Now I’m not sure phone booths are still around!

      Thanks for coming by and leaving a message

  7. Sandy February 17, 2012 at 1:21 pm #

    I remember both party lines and phones with super long cords. Lack of privacy kinda reminds me of those school dances where girls (and guys) would wait for someone to come ask them to dance. Everyone could see who sat out. I couldn’t stand to wait around and watch everyone having fun. If no one came to me, I gave it five minutes and then went and found someone to dance. Good luck with the book.

    • Cynthia D'Alba February 17, 2012 at 1:53 pm #

      As assertive/aggressive as I can be, when I was a teenager, I went into a shell around boys! I know some will find that hard to believe but it’s true. I don’t think I could have marched over and asked a guy to dance. And calling the boy? NEVER! Unless you were “going steady.”

      Thanks for coming by and leaving a message

  8. Joanne B February 17, 2012 at 1:40 pm #

    I remember the days of the rotary phone and party lines. When I was young, we didn’t have a phone of our own. We lived in a side by side with my grandparents. They had a phone. The day “the call” was to happen, I wouldn’t let anyone use the phone all day just in case the time changed. I was so nervous. When he finally called, I was tongue-tied and couldn’t say anything. I was embarrassed then, but now, I can laugh about it. Thanks for the blog tour. Can’t wait to read Texas Two Step. It is nice of Kerri To give away one of her books. Thanks for that.

    e.balinski(at)att(dot)net

    • Cynthia D'Alba February 17, 2012 at 1:56 pm #

      Hey Joanne! I didn’t see you on Wednesday’s stop. I was worried about you! :)

      Oh tongue-tied..yep. me too. and then when I get nervous, I have a tendency for my voice to get LOUD so some of those poor boys thought I was yelling at them. LOL

      thanks for catching up with the tour.

      And yes, Keri is a gem for supporting my tour.

  9. Megan Mitcham February 17, 2012 at 2:55 pm #

    I for one am thankful to have been a teen before the age of Twitter, Facebook, and email. How impersonal a way to communicate with “the one.” He obviously wouldn’t have been my one, had he chosen those routes.

    I remember the curly cord stretched straight in my effort to tuck into the dark pantry. I also remember my little brother running around the house screaming like a maniac, “Ooooh, Sis is on the phone with a guy!” Luckily, by the time my “one” came along, cell phones were no longer the size of briefcases and I was out of the house, a big girl in the working world. So, we could giggle and gush as long as we wanted, in privacy.

    Great Blog Cynthia!

  10. Barbara White Daille February 17, 2012 at 3:01 pm #

    Hi, Cynthia – that post brought back a ton of memories!

    We had a phone on the wall just outside the kitchen. With a one-foot cord on the receiver. And the wall was the hub of the house with every room branching off from it.

    Forget whispers. Everyone in the house could hear me breathe! LOL

    • Cynthia D'Alba February 17, 2012 at 4:03 pm #

      “could hear me breathe” BRAWAHAHAHA

      I used to disassemble the receiver, take out the microphone part on the extention, and could listen in on my sister’s telephone conversations without her knowing. Hee hee

      Thanks for coming by, especially as busy as I know you are.

      • Barbara White Daille February 17, 2012 at 4:12 pm #

        Cynthia – you evil sister, you!

        And my pleasure in stopping by. I’m so excited for you and the tour and your debut! You’re rockin’!

  11. Brenda Sparks February 17, 2012 at 4:55 pm #

    Thanks for jogging the old memory. I haven’t thought about 30 foot phone cords in forever. It reminded me of the freedom we used to have to be able to leave the house without a phone, which anyone could use to find us at any time. I miss being able to be unreachable. Of course the upside–you don’t have to sit at home waiting for him to call.

    Congratulations on the blog tour. I’m excited for you and can’t wait to read the book when come out!

    • Cynthia D'Alba February 17, 2012 at 6:24 pm #

      Thanks Brenda. I know what you mean about being unreachable. Seems strange now to think that my husband might not be able to reach me in case of an emergency, doesn’t it?

      I hope you love TTS! I’ll see you soon.

  12. StacieD February 17, 2012 at 6:18 pm #

    Hello Cynthia! I was in college when I got the call. This was in the early 90s when cellphones were the size of a brick. Neither one of us had one. It was the beginning of a long-distance relationship.

    geishasmom73 AT yahoo DOT com

    • Cynthia D'Alba February 17, 2012 at 6:26 pm #

      Hi Stacie. I remember my parents getting a “bag phone” for the car. They were SOOOO ahead of the cell curve.

      My first cell phone was one of those bricks. I always figured I could hold it by the antenna and beat an attacker to death! My phone now wouldn’t kill a fly if I tried to slam it down! LOL

      Thanks for coming by. Hope you’re enjoying The Prequel.

  13. lisagk February 17, 2012 at 11:05 pm #

    I have already preordered Texas Two Step, but I would love a chance to win Keri’s book.
    Thanks. lisagk(at)yahoo(dot)com

  14. mywithershins February 18, 2012 at 12:33 pm #

    Hi, Cynthia! Congrats on Texas Two Step! I’m Canadian and don’t expect to be eligible for the draw, but felt compelled to comment, anyway. I didn’t have many ‘hims’ other than the one I married. I did take the initiative with one I was supposed to go with to the Red River Ex (a spring fair with carnival rides). He was supposed to call and set up a time and place to meet, but never did, so I called him. He wasn’t home to take my call. Needless to say, I didn’t talk to him after that, as it was pretty obvious he wasn’t ‘the one’. When future hubby and I met we had to spend almost three years apart because I went to University in the States, so ‘his’ phone calls were very special, but not too private in a dorm room with two or three roommates hanging around, each waiting for their own ‘him’ to call. Very frustrating and not very private. Good thing my roommates were great friends and sympathetic! :)

    • Cynthia D'Alba February 18, 2012 at 4:22 pm #

      Cellphone were not around when I was in college. My dorm room had a wallphone with a long cord! Only one roomie so there was some privacy to be had. Plus I had a beauty queen roomie, so she was gone on dates A LOT!

      Thanks for coming by and leaving a message

  15. Patti P February 20, 2012 at 8:43 pm #

    I remember my first call from my dear hubby. We had met on a cruise and he asked for my number. Since we lived four states from each other I was unwilling to give him the number..but my best friend made me. Anyways…after the cruise about a week later he called me, I was beyond shocked. We talked (lots) he kept calling me for about a month. Then he asked if he paid for an airline ticket would I come and see him. I was a single mom with two little ones and couldn’t afford it myself. I said sure..the flights kept happening until he said one day…how about if I buy a house and move you and kids here? The rest is history.
    musicalfrog at comcast.net

  16. Cynthia D'Alba February 21, 2012 at 6:09 am #

    2.21.12
    This post is now CLOSED for Faithful Follower Comments.

    Comments left after this notice are appreciated and welcomed but WILL NOT BE COUNTED in the Faithful Follower Contest.

    Thank you for your comments and support.

  17. shannonemmel February 21, 2012 at 6:24 am #

    Thanks so much for being here with us at Passionate Reads! Congrats on what looks like a GREAT debut and we’ll all be looking forward to more!

    –Shannon

  18. Cynthia D'Alba February 22, 2012 at 9:27 am #

    Book Winner!

    lisagk(at)yahoo(dot)com

    Your comment was chosen to win Keri Ford’s Uninhibited in Apple Trail, Arkansas

    Congrats!

  19. Patti P March 1, 2012 at 4:45 pm #

    I posted most of the story on another stop on the tour, but my first phone call from my hubby came as an absolute shock because we had met on a cruise and in two different parts of the country. I am so glad he has my nerve than I do.
    musicalfrog at comcast.net

    • Cynthia D'Alba March 1, 2012 at 5:41 pm #

      Hi Patti! Thanks for coming by and leaving a message

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 362 other followers

