I love my Kindle, but…

6 Apr

I have another confession to make. Yes, I seem to be confessing all over Passionate Reads. Just think of yourselves as my pseudo-priests. The dual-computer screens between us shall act as our veil for privacy’s sake.

I am obsessed with the Kindle screen savers. Probably in what a professional therapist would deem an “unhealthy” way. Some are cute. Some really are. I can look at them and they make me smile, or at least not turn my head and barf.

 

Others are not okay. I’m sorry, Ralph Ellison, you were a cool dude and all, and I respect your career. But if I roll over in the middle of the night and reach for my cell phone, your face is not one I want staring back at me. Same thing with Agatha Christie. Sorry, Aggie…not what I want to see first thing in the AM. The faces are just so…right there staring at you! Like one of those paintings whose eyes look like they’re following you around the room? Like that.

And so, I have taken to actually turning my Kindle off, waiting to see what screen saver pops up. And if I don’t like it, I will actually turn my Kindle back on and off again so that I get a new one. Repeat process until I get one I like. Or can at least look at in the middle of the night without blinking like an owl.

 

If you had to pick a screen saver, what would it be? I’d probably put up a picture of my dog…cause he’s lovable and squishy and fuzzy and adorable. (Pic of him when he was just a baby. He’s 4 years old now.)

________________________________

KJ Reed is an erotic romance author. She writes sexy contemporary stories featuring alpha men and the women (and men) who can’t resist them. You can find out more about KJ, get behind-the-scenes glances at her books, and catch up with her blog by visiting her site: authorkjreed.com

 

7 Responses to “I love my Kindle, but…”

  1. Lauren Fraser April 6, 2011 at 11:19 am #

    Too funny. My daughter is addicted to the apple screensavers on her Itouch and is always fiddling with it to see which picture comes up. Only problem with hers is alot of them have swear words and horribly enough I usually laugh then of course have to back track and tell her it’s not appropriate. LOL

  2. Marilyn Campbell April 6, 2011 at 12:28 pm #

    I don’t have a kindle but my other screensavers are all various beaches I’ve been to & one lighthouse.

  3. Mary Preston April 6, 2011 at 4:49 pm #

    Probably some delicious hunk but then not much reading would get done. I can imagine dressing him up in a new outfit (like a Ken doll) & then undressing him too.

    • voireylinger April 6, 2011 at 9:42 pm #

      I love my Kinny, but John Steinbeck has to go. Back when I was a horse-crazy kid whose reading level was way above her emotional maturity level, I made the mistake of reading The Red Pony.

      I remain traumatized nearly three decades later.

      I do NOT like seeing him on my Kinny. All I can think about is the end of that book… with the bird’s wing… and… *shudder*

  4. Nara April 7, 2011 at 7:15 am #

    Cool, I didn’t know Kindle had screensavers. I started making a Nook screensaver a long time back, as promo for a book, but decided at the time the market was really too small to make it worth the time. Maybe now if I make it for both readers…

  5. snickerdoodle April 7, 2011 at 8:35 am #

    emily dickinson is THE worst of the bunch!

    there’s actually a way to “jailbreak” the kindle and add your own screensavers but i haven’t had the inclination to sit down and go through the whole process just yet.

    soon though, soon…

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. The Kindle Needs a Mouse… | Dave Enjoys - April 6, 2011

    [...] I love my Kindle, but… (passionatereads.com) [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 362 other followers

