My big, bad intro…

12 Mar

Hi, I’m Cat Grant, author of m/m and m/m/f erotica. Welcome to my first blog post here at Passionate Reads. I’m so excited!

I’ve chatted previously on Twitter with some of my fellow author-bloggers, as well as our fabbo editor, Grace Bradley. One of our fave topics is the CW show The Vampire Diaries, and how much we all love that angsty bad boy, Damon Salvatore. Amazing how he can be so effing hot, even when he’s threatening to break the heroine’s arm! But we faithful viewers know it’s all just an act. There’s this awful pain eating away at Damon’s soul that he can only endure by doing bad, bad things because he thinks he deserves to be hated. Makes me want to hug him—right before my panties go up in flames!

I’ve always had a thing for anti-heroes. My two favorite actors of all time are Humphrey Bogart and Robert Mitchum, and they both excelled at playing anti-heroes. Rick Blaine in Casablanca’s motto is, “I stick my neck out for nobody.” Mitchum’s greatest character, detective Jeff Bailey in Out of the Past, not only falls for the movie’s bad girl, but when she tells him she’s bad, he replies, “Baby, I don’t care.” Not exactly what a white knight would say, in either instance! Both characters are redeemed by the love of a good woman before the end, but up until then, it’s touch and go—and I love it! It’s fun watching these characters struggle with right and wrong, and end up doing right in spite of themselves.

Yes, I know. I’m weird. But of the three great conflicts in fiction—man against man, man against nature, man against himself—it’s the third I find most fascinating. It feels like more of a triumph when the hero has to battle his past and his conflicting emotions (usually including a nice, big dose of fear and/or self-doubt) to win free and earn that happy ending.

I like to close a book (or finish a movie) thinking, “Conquered his demons? Check. Shown his vulnerability? Check. Accepted love? Double-check. Okay, I’m satisfied.”

Talk about a loaded word! But by now you know what I mean. :)

Cat Grant’s been scribbling stories since she was knee-high to a bug. She lives by the sea in beautiful Monterey, California with one persnickety feline and entirely too many books and DVDs. She’s published by Amber Quill Press and Ellora’s Cave.

12 Responses to “My big, bad intro…”

  1. KJ Reed March 12, 2011 at 11:19 am #

    Welcome Cat! Loved having you on my own blog, so glad you’ll be here now too!

    • Cat Grant March 13, 2011 at 10:40 am #

      Thanks, KJ! I’m glad to be here. :)

  2. Marilyn Campbell March 12, 2011 at 11:34 am #

    Welcome Cat and I’m right there with ya on the anti-hero worship.

    • Cat Grant March 13, 2011 at 10:39 am #

      Thanks for commenting, Marilyn. Looks like I’m in good company! :-)

  3. Amara Devonte March 12, 2011 at 11:47 am #

    Hi Cat! Gotta say, I could not agree more. I love my anti-heroes. Love Love LOVE!

    • Cat Grant March 13, 2011 at 10:40 am #

      There’s something about a hero with an edge that definitely gets me going. :)

  4. Jen B. March 13, 2011 at 7:19 am #

    When I read The Courtland Chronicles I kept wondering why Eric was the hero. He’s very unlikable. But I ended up really loving him because he is who he is and he really loved Ally and Nick. Now I get it. He really is the anti-hero and he had worked through your checklist. Cool!

    • Cat Grant March 13, 2011 at 9:54 am #

      Thanks for your comment, Jen. :)

      Anti-heroes are a hard-sell in romance novels. (Not that I had any clue. I cut my teeth on Linda Howard’s category romances back in the 90s, and her heroes make Eric Courtland look like Mr. Sensitive.) I got pretty harshly schooled in that regard when The Arrangement first came out. I suspect Eric will lose some of his edge when/if the Courtland series is ever republished elsewhere.

  5. Maureen O. Betita March 13, 2011 at 10:49 am #

    Wow, I can hear Robert M. saying that line…so him!

    • Cat Grant March 13, 2011 at 10:56 am #

      Mitchum was da bomb, wasn’t he? I can’t think of a single actor today who can match him. :)

  6. Sasha Devlin March 13, 2011 at 1:13 pm #

    Anti-heroes are a fine line for me. Done just right and I turn into a melty puddle of goo. Cross the line and the book becomes a wall banger and I want blood.

    And I don’t watch the Vampire Diaries (I always root for the “wrong” guy in love triangles), but I could watch Damon all day long.

  7. Crystal Kauffman March 14, 2011 at 9:06 pm #

    Welcome Cat! I can see we have a lot in common :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 362 other followers

